mint thinks cpu is smaller than it is

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

mint thinks cpu is smaller than it is

Postby chriss2.0 on Sat Nov 02, 2013 1:14 pm

I could be Wrong, i have just installed "Age of Empires" (via wine) and after install, when i try to run i get a msg saying that my prosseser is only 1.3GHZ :? so i cant play.

however my laptops prosseser is a duel core 1.8GHZ why does it think its smaller?
chriss2.0
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 1:01 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: mint thinks cpu is smaller than it is

Postby RobertLM78 on Sat Nov 02, 2013 1:29 pm

Chris -

Try typing
Code: Select all
inxi -C

into a terminal and post the results. If it is Mint that is mis-identifying the processor, then this will show it.
Dell Dimension 4600i, ATI Rage 128, 1 GB RAM, Linux Mint 13 32-bit, MATE edition
Dell Latitude D400, Intel Graphics, 1 GB RAM, Linux Mint 13 32-bit, MATE edition
Gateway DX4860, Sapphire Radeon HD 5450, 6 GB RAM, Linux Mint 13 64-bit, MATE edition
User avatar
RobertLM78
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 4:19 am
Location: US

Re: mint thinks cpu is smaller than it is

Postby chriss2.0 on Sat Nov 02, 2013 2:39 pm

RobertLM78 wrote:Chris -

Try typing
Code: Select all
inxi -C

into a terminal and post the results. If it is Mint that is mis-identifying the processor, then this will show it.


"CPU: Dual core AMD Athlon 64 X2 TK-57 (-MCP-) cache: 512 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 svm)
Clock Speeds: 1: 800.00 MHz 2: 800.00 MHz"

got the make right but it runs at 1.90GHZ according to the windows partition (duel boot)

even so that still thats more than 1.3GHZ so why is it underclocking my cpu and how do i fix it?
chriss2.0
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 1:01 pm

Re: mint thinks cpu is smaller than it is

Postby gold_finger on Sat Nov 02, 2013 3:10 pm

Pretty sure it's just showing what cpu currently running at -- not capacity. Will ramp up when needed.

Run this instead and look at the capacity:

Code: Select all
sudo lshw -C cpu

(Will appear to pause for a few seconds before displaying output.)
Add "Solved" to title of thread if solution is found. (Go to your first post and hit "Edit" button.) This helps make it easier for others to find solutions that work.

Try Linux Beginner Search Engine for Linux questions.
gold_finger
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:39 pm

Re: mint thinks cpu is smaller than it is

Postby hpmc13 on Sat Nov 02, 2013 8:48 pm

I had a similar problem with a new build. Couldn't figure out why it seemed slower than the old machine. The BIOS was throttling the CPU to half-speed all the time. Mint would report the speed as this as well when I did benchmarking. When I unleased it, everything got really fast.
hpmc13
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 4:26 pm

Re: mint thinks cpu is smaller than it is

Postby catweazel on Sat Nov 02, 2013 9:06 pm

hpmc13 wrote:When I unleased it, everything got really fast.

I'm sorry but that recommended fix isn't vague enough. Could you have another go, please?
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
KDE 4.12.0, custom preemptive kernel 3.12.5,
Intel i7 4770K @ 4.7GHz, 16GB 2666MHz XMP,
4 Samsung 840 PRO 512GB SSDs in RAID0,
6TB HW RAID10, dual 24" Acer X243H,
Gigabyte nVidia GTX 680 Super Overclock
User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: mint thinks cpu is smaller than it is

Postby tom99 on Sun Nov 03, 2013 2:22 pm

My guess is that the application is running its own benchmark and finding the performance is equal to 1.3 GHz. That application is running through the wine emulation and you are probably getting a performance drop from wine.

Wine usually gives me a performance drop, depending on the brand. =-}
tom99
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 11:43 am

Re: mint thinks cpu is smaller than it is

Postby eanfrid on Sun Nov 03, 2013 3:38 pm

What gives "inxi -S" ?
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit w/custom 3.14 longterm kernel - MATE 1.8.1
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1542
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: there is no place like ~

Re: mint thinks cpu is smaller than it is

Postby gold_finger on Sun Nov 03, 2013 5:59 pm

This is likely your solution: CPU Frequency Scaling

Your system is set to "On Demand". Change to "Performance" should solve issue I would imagine. Note: will likely use laptop battery up quicker and increase temperature -- so probably want to make change only when needed for Wine -- assuming this solves the problem. (I have no experience with Wine, so just guessing this is problem.)

To find more info if needed: Linux Beginner Search Engine
Add "Solved" to title of thread if solution is found. (Go to your first post and hit "Edit" button.) This helps make it easier for others to find solutions that work.

Try Linux Beginner Search Engine for Linux questions.
gold_finger
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:39 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jack0987 and 31 guests