adv. desktop effects - can my videocard support it?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

adv. desktop effects - can my videocard support it?

Postby khanvict on Sun Jul 20, 2008 7:12 pm

how do i know if my videocard (which is an older one) can support the desktop effects? i have a "Rosewill RX20L-64N Xabre 200 64MB 64-bit DDR AGP 4X/8X Low Profile Video Card". in xp, i can do the winflip and desktop-cube effects so i am assuming it should be able to handle the same type of effects in linux as well? i can select the effects in mint, like everyone, but they do not initiate (nothing happens). do i need to have a certain driver installed or is there some kind of procedure that you have to do to formally enable the effects in the terminal? can someone guide me through what needs to be done if it's supported by my card?
khanvict
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:25 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: adv. desktop effects - can my videocard support it?

Postby 67GTA on Sun Jul 20, 2008 7:38 pm

I have never heard of that card. You can use
Code: Select all
compiz-check
in a terminal. It will check your system for the requirements.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: adv. desktop effects - can my videocard support it?

Postby khanvict on Sun Jul 20, 2008 7:45 pm

67GTA wrote:I have never heard of that card. You can use
Code: Select all
compiz-check
in a terminal. It will check your system for the requirements.

did you mean "compiz check" without the hyphen cause with it, it didn't work.

this is what i get:
Checking for Xgl: not present.
No whitelisted driver found
aborting and using fallback: /usr/bin/xfwm4

does that mean it's not supported or it's missing the driver?
khanvict
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:25 pm

Re: adv. desktop effects - can my videocard support it?

Postby 67GTA on Sun Jul 20, 2008 7:57 pm

It may have changed since I last used it. If your card needs a driver to enable 3D, then you might be out of luck. I've never seen a driver for that card. Post the output of
Code: Select all
lspci
from a terminal.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: adv. desktop effects - can my videocard support it?

Postby khanvict on Sun Jul 20, 2008 8:07 pm

67GTA wrote:It may have changed since I last used it. If your card needs a driver to enable 3D, then you might be out of luck. I've never seen a driver for that card. Post the output of
Code: Select all
lspci
from a terminal.

00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 250Gb Host Bridge (rev a1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 250Gb LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation nForce 250Gb PCI System Management (rev a1)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation CK8S USB Controller (rev a1)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation CK8S USB Controller (rev a1)
00:02.2 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a2)
00:05.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation CK8S Ethernet Controller (rev a2)
00:06.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 250Gb AC'97 Audio Controller (rev a1)
00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK8S Parallel ATA Controller (v2.5) (rev a2)
00:0a.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK8S Serial ATA Controller (v2.5) (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 250Gb AGP Host to PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:0e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 250Gb PCI-to-PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 330 [Xabre] PCI/AGP VGA Display Adapter (rev 01)
02:0a.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 536EP Data Fax Modem


i did what you told that other person to do about installing xgl and i think it's working now? after i installed, i reran the compiz check and it said it found xgl but didn't find nvidia? then it tried finding a match for something and enabled the emerald theme picker. how do i disable the emerald theme? i don't like it.
khanvict
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:25 pm

Re: adv. desktop effects - can my videocard support it?

Postby khanvict on Sun Jul 20, 2008 8:14 pm

hm, maybe that wasn't such a good idea. i restarted my computer and now my titlebars from my windows are missing and i can't resize or move any of them either.
khanvict
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:25 pm

Re: adv. desktop effects - can my videocard support it?

Postby 67GTA on Sun Jul 20, 2008 8:19 pm

You are in luck. Your card is supported by the SIS driver, and is installed by default. I'm not sure what the capability of the card is though. Hopefully it will work with compiz. The easiest way to turn compiz/emerald on/off is with the fusion-icon. You can install it with the package manager. You can turn off emerald, and keep compiz running.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: adv. desktop effects - can my videocard support it?

Postby 67GTA on Sun Jul 20, 2008 8:21 pm

Open a terminal and run
Code: Select all
metacity --replace
This will disable emerald and restore window decoration control to the default metacity.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: adv. desktop effects - can my videocard support it?

Postby khanvict on Sun Jul 20, 2008 8:49 pm

thanks for your help. it seems when i install that "xserver-xgl" the system would slow down drastically probably cause my card is not that great and i'm guessing it's necessary to have xserver-xgl to run compiz so i suppose i can just do without it.
khanvict
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:25 pm

Re: adv. desktop effects - can my videocard support it?

Postby Crimson_Wake on Sun Nov 16, 2008 1:30 pm

I have the same question, but my video driver isn't so easy to see. It's got a series of number, and then 'or' and another series of numbers.

compiz-check

Linux Mint
GNOME
Graphics chip: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 661/741/760 PCI/AGP or 662/761Gx PCIE VGA Display Adapter
Driver in use: SIS
Rendering Method: AIGLX

Everything was [OK] except for the hardware/setup problems. [WARN]

'"WARNING: Detected driver is not on the whitelist."

I said Y to learn more, and it just told me that it isn't widely recognized.

It's an ACER Aspire 3003WLCi laptop with 1.2GB of RAM. It should be able to run whatever I need it to. Is there a way to get the correct driver and put it on the whitellist?

Thanks in advance!

Blake
Crimson_Wake
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 9:32 pm

Re: adv. desktop effects - can my videocard support it?

Postby Crimson_Wake on Sun Nov 16, 2008 7:07 pm

I have opened xorg.conf many times over, and it doesn't read anything like what everyone tells me it should.

Here's a post of what it looks like.

# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
# sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Synaptics Touchpad"
Driver "synaptics"
Option "SendCoreEvents" "true"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
Option "HorizEdgeScroll" "0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
Device "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen "Default Screen"
InputDevice "Synaptics Touchpad"
EndSection


There's nothing there to adjust my screen or drivers. i reinstalled mint5 because I wanted my 1280x800 resolution back. I dunno if it's really that high, but it's not 640x480 like it was.
With my SiS card, is it possible to do ANY compiz stuff?
Crimson_Wake
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 9:32 pm

Re: adv. desktop effects - can my videocard support it?

Postby 67GTA on Sun Nov 16, 2008 7:32 pm

I doubt the SIS card will run compiz. There is no real 3D support for the SIS cards under Linux. When it was talking about your driver/card not being whitelisted, it meant that your stuff isn't known to work with compiz, or your stuff is blacklisted.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: adv. desktop effects - can my videocard support it?

Postby Crimson_Wake on Sun Nov 16, 2008 9:18 pm

Dang. So there's no way I can run the fun stuff, huh?

Well, I would REALLY like a dock like I have on my MAC, and on my other Mint 5 setup.

Is there a dock that will work with my basic setup?
Crimson_Wake
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 9:32 pm

Re: adv. desktop effects - can my videocard support it?

Postby 67GTA on Sun Nov 16, 2008 9:49 pm

You might try pypanel, or adesklets has a dock of some sorts.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: adv. desktop effects - can my videocard support it?

Postby rivenought on Sun Nov 16, 2008 10:04 pm

It may be possible for GNOME compositing to be enabled, thereby allowing the use of AWN. It is worth checking out.

Enabling GNOME compositing (System > Preferences > mintDesktop > GNOME Compositing tab) is easy, but be aware that sometimes disabling it can cause you to have to log back into your session.

AWN (Avant Window Navigator) looks very similar to the Mac OSX dock. It can be found in mintInstall. I have experimented with GNOME compositing in combination with AWN on my system. Everything worked fine. Your kilometerage may vary, but just might have a high probability of success. Good luck.
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: adv. desktop effects - can my videocard support it?

Postby Crimson_Wake on Sun Nov 16, 2008 11:21 pm

adesklets and gdesklets are very similar, and I had a hell of a time trying to get that to work, so I don't know if that's what I want. Dang.

Pypanel is very old as well. It stopped development in 2005, and there are a few patches to keep it up to date. I'm going to keep looking.

I ran into a post on an Ubuntu forum about a similar dock:

"As an alternative to Compiz, Cairo-Dock will also work with xcompmgr from the repositories."

What are the general thoughts on this?
Crimson_Wake
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 9:32 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests