(Solved) MD5 checksum wrong with 16 Cinnamon

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

(Solved) MD5 checksum wrong with 16 Cinnamon

Postby Conker on Fri Dec 13, 2013 3:52 pm

I burned (at only 8x) the ISO image for 64-bit Cinnamon Petra but found that the MD5 check sum did not verify with the one on the Mint download site here
http://www.linuxmint.com/edition.php?id=144
OK, I tried again with a different burner program and again it did not get verified with the MD5 checksum.
However, both of my DVD ISO Images give the same checksum value, suggesting that the burn was good, so can anyone please suggest what I am doing wrong?
Thanks
Last edited by Conker on Sun Dec 15, 2013 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Conker
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 3:09 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: MD5 checksum wrong with 16 Cinnamon

Postby jungle_boy on Fri Dec 13, 2013 5:42 pm

1- Which burner did you use to burn the DVD?

2- How you calculated the md5 sum?

3- You calculated the md5 sum of downloaded ISO image or dvd recorded?
LM17 Cinnamon (PC and Notebook) with AMD Catalyst
HP Pavilion g4-1316br, AMD Quad Core, 1,5 GHz, Radeon 6520G/7450M,
Image
Linuxcounter Registered User #506065 (2008)
User avatar
jungle_boy
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Amazon Rain Forest, Brazil

Re: MD5 checksum wrong with 16 Cinnamon

Postby Conker on Fri Dec 13, 2013 6:06 pm

1. First one I tried was ISOBurner from http://freeisoburner.com/
Second one I tried was CDBurnerXP from http://download.cnet.com/CDBurnerXP/300 ... 09086.html

2. To do the checksum I used WinMD5Free v 1.20 from www.winmd5.com
3. Both. They were the same.
I have also just tried a different mirror download site and get the exact same checksum.
Thanks for the response.
Conker
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 3:09 pm

Re: MD5 checksum wrong with 16 Cinnamon

Postby jungle_boy on Fri Dec 13, 2013 6:18 pm

The md5 sum are different in iso image and in a burned DVD.

I dont know if windows burner calculate correctly a md5 sum...

If you have already installed successfully LM, place the downloaded iso image in the folder Download there, open terminal here (Download directory) and type:

Code: Select all
md5sum <name_of_the_downloaded_iso_image>


After, compare it with the md5 sum on the MInt download place.
LM17 Cinnamon (PC and Notebook) with AMD Catalyst
HP Pavilion g4-1316br, AMD Quad Core, 1,5 GHz, Radeon 6520G/7450M,
Image
Linuxcounter Registered User #506065 (2008)
User avatar
jungle_boy
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Amazon Rain Forest, Brazil

Re: MD5 checksum wrong with 16 Cinnamon

Postby Conker on Fri Dec 13, 2013 6:40 pm

Thanks jungle_boy but I am doing this on an old Windows Vista desktop that I want to potentially move over to Mint so I can't use Terminal.
(Many Windows users who want to move to Mint are in this situation right?)
When I get access to my Mint 15 laptop I will redo it all again and try your suggestion.
Thank you again.
Conker
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 3:09 pm

Re: MD5 checksum wrong with 16 Cinnamon

Postby jungle_boy on Sat Dec 14, 2013 10:55 am

Conker wrote:(Many Windows users who want to move to Mint are in this situation right?)

Of course!

Welcome to the world of freedom, welcome to Linux!
LM17 Cinnamon (PC and Notebook) with AMD Catalyst
HP Pavilion g4-1316br, AMD Quad Core, 1,5 GHz, Radeon 6520G/7450M,
Image
Linuxcounter Registered User #506065 (2008)
User avatar
jungle_boy
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Amazon Rain Forest, Brazil

Re: (Solved) MD5 checksum wrong with 16 Cinnamon

Postby Conker on Sun Dec 15, 2013 5:07 pm

Well, I got my Mint 15 Cinnamon laptop and was able to get a good ISO image with correct checksum for 16 Cinnamon. Installed it and everything works very well.This Linux stuff is really starting to appeal to me.
I have edited original post title to (Solved) but I have no idea why I could not get a correct ISO image via the Vista box ( which is the situation for many potential conversions fromWindows.)
Appreciate the support.
Conker
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 3:09 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests