apt/sources.list versus Synaptic

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

apt/sources.list versus Synaptic

Postby aus9 on Sat Jul 26, 2008 9:45 pm

Hi

I am a LinuxMint and Ubuntu/Debian newbie but quite experienced on rpm distros.
I have installed Mint v4 aka Daryna KDE Community edition

I can view my /etc/apt/sources.list and have made no changes.
I can view and have made no changes to Synaptic.

I love the bootup speed which is for me about one minute which beats Mandriva by about 30 seconds.
I have disabled some services but have not done anything too fancy as still in learning mode.

I have done a test of updating Mint using the KDE MintUpdate network applet and it works fine thanks.

Question (1)

How come Synaptic shows about 16 source categories versus /etc/apt/sources.list of 6 (non-commented) repositories?

For example...in sources.list I have
## +++ Medibuntu +++
deb http://packages.medibuntu.org/ gutsy free non-free

Which suggests that only non-free packages will be searched.

But in Synaptic I have for Medibutu
/free
/main
/multiverse
/non-free.....(a match)
/universe

question (2)

Do I assume that I use the icon to update the system software but I use Synaptic...it uses a wider range of repositories so I will get a better update?

Let me know if you need more info or want me to be clearer...because I am confused.

Thanks in advance for any info you can offer....and feel free to be as blunt as you like.

cheerio
Last edited by aus9 on Sun Jul 27, 2008 5:32 am, edited 2 times in total.
aus9
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: apt/sources.lst versus Synaptic