Flash player not working in Firefox

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Flash player not working in Firefox

Postby ferral-cat on Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:23 pm

Hi all,

I am having some trouble with flash on my new system. when I go to this page:

http://www.allhomesrealty.net

I get an error that I must install flash.

But when I go to the official adobe flash test page:

http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/welcome/

It shows that flash player is working but that shockwave player is not.

I have the flashplugin-nonfree package installed and am using default Firefox that came with Linux Mint 5.

I tried with Opera web browser and get same results.
ferral-cat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 11:57 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Flash player not working in Firefox

Postby rivenought on Wed Jul 30, 2008 1:25 pm

Welcome to the forum, ferral-cat!

I just checked that site and got the same message as you. In my testing of numerous other flash sites, flash player is actually working in Firefox and in Mint, but it seems that one particular site has an issue. So, your system is functioning properly, but that website is not. Until that site gets its act together, you may have to enjoy viewing others which are similar. Only rarely do I get those sites which will not work in Firefox/Mint. I just wanted to let you know the problem is not with your system.

As for the shockwave site, it said I did not have it either. I have never seen that message before on any site I have visited. My system is pretty standard, so not sure why it is not working, but then again, I have never seen that message. Not sure what to make of it, either.
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: Flash player not working in Firefox

Postby ferral-cat on Wed Jul 30, 2008 1:49 pm

Thanks rivenought,

I just wanted to make sure. I get that same error if I try to use my smartphone (Windows Mobile 6) to browse to that site.

Im going to try installing cxoffice and Microsoft Internet Explorer and see if the error persists.

I had Kubuntu 8.04 (Hardy Heron) before this and what a disaster it was. I am so impressed with Linux Mint 5. I was going to try Zenwalk Linux but since this Mint works so well there is no point.
ferral-cat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 11:57 am

Re: Flash player not working in Firefox

Postby rivenought on Wed Jul 30, 2008 2:52 pm

Yeah, it seems that site has something odd about it. It would be interesting to read about how it renders in your other upcoming choices.

I fiddled around with the Live CDs of Zenwalk (very good), and Wolvix (interesting), but I still muchly prefer Mint as my daily driver. I have installs of openSUSE and Mandriva, but rarely boot into them anymore.

I still have not used any of the Ubuntu distros, but I really should at least give Hardy Heron some kind of testing. With more and more people installing Mint after using Ubuntu, I might need some first-hand experience as to what is going on over there.

Anyway, please post whatever other findings you may come up with. Have fun!
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: Flash player not working in Firefox

Postby rbanavara on Wed Jul 30, 2008 4:15 pm

somewhere on this forum I had seen clem / husse chking the code of CNN live video site & had found that the version is hardcoded & they haven't updated it to include flash 10. That was preventing the videos to be played.
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it -Husse
User avatar
rbanavara
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 9:07 am

Re: Flash player not working in Firefox

Postby CavalierBob on Wed Jul 30, 2008 8:46 pm

And I had a weird problem today on a fresh Elyssa install. Flash 10 would not work on any flash site! I had to downgrade (and this is the really weird part) to Flash 9. When I did that, flash on sites like the BBC, YouTube, IllWillPress would then play. With Flash 10, there was nothing but a white space where the flash movie player should have been.

I don't know if this is some weird Flash/Compiz/Nvidia driver interaction or what. Just really odd Flash 9 solved it when Flash 9 was the cause of so many problems when Elyssa was released.

Bob
All progress requires change, but not all change is progress.
--Henry Steele Commager

...there are some...who use change to promote their careers. And then there are those...who use their careers to promote change.
--Sarah Palin
User avatar
CavalierBob
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 2:27 pm
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA USA


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests