I Lost My Task Bar

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

I Lost My Task Bar

Postby JerryC58 on Thu Feb 27, 2014 12:38 pm

I was trying out the xfce desktop yesterday and decided to try and remove the little task bar at the bottom. I feel it is a distraction. In the process I also lost the big task bar at the top. How do I get the top task bar back? With it's original layout? Also, how do I get rid of the little task bar at the bottom? I am not afraid to edit scripts if that is what it takes.

JC
JC
Linux Mint 16
JerryC58
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:02 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: I Lost My Task Bar

Postby jahid on Thu Feb 27, 2014 1:45 pm

jahid@HP ProBook 440 G1 Laptop
User avatar
jahid
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:07 pm
Location: Khulna, Bangladesh

Re: I Lost My Task Bar

Postby Flemur on Thu Feb 27, 2014 2:03 pm

To show a panel:

$ xfce4-panel

Then you can add to it and/or create a new one.
Mint 17/Xfce/fluxbox & Mint 16/Xfce/fluxbox
User avatar
Flemur
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 766
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm

Re: I Lost My Task Bar

Postby JerryC58 on Thu Feb 27, 2014 8:31 pm

I couldn't get the two suggestions to do anything for me, so I thought if I uninstalled xfce and reinstalled it, I might get my menu bar back. I uninstalled a lot of stuff that had xfce in the name. When I try to reinstall mint-meta-xfce, it marks it red and says I have a broken package. What do I do now?

JC
JC
Linux Mint 16
JerryC58
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:02 pm

Re: I Lost My Task Bar

Postby jahid on Fri Feb 28, 2014 2:47 am

search the broken package in synaptic with the help of "broken" filter and reinstall it.
jahid@HP ProBook 440 G1 Laptop
User avatar
jahid
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:07 pm
Location: Khulna, Bangladesh

Re: I Lost My Task Bar

Postby JerryC58 on Fri Feb 28, 2014 10:16 am

The broken package is mint-meta-xfce so it won't let me install it. Is there someway to replace the whole package?

JC
JC
Linux Mint 16
JerryC58
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:02 pm

Re: I Lost My Task Bar

Postby jahid on Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:21 am

in the uninstalling process you might have uninstalled some of the important dependencies of mint-meta-xfce. so if it doesn't let you reinstall it then only option is to remove it (completely remove it). then install all of the packages you had uninstalled again.
jahid@HP ProBook 440 G1 Laptop
User avatar
jahid
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:07 pm
Location: Khulna, Bangladesh

Re: I Lost My Task Bar

Postby JerryC58 on Fri Feb 28, 2014 12:26 pm

jahid_0903014 wrote:in the uninstalling process you might have uninstalled some of the important dependencies of mint-meta-xfce. so if it doesn't let you reinstall it then only option is to remove it (completely remove it). then install all of the packages you had uninstalled again.


This presents a problem. I agree I've uninstalled something I shouldn't have. I checked "completely remove" on everything so it wouldn't remember the changes to the menu I had made. Now for the confusion. Since I think I have already completely removed everything, what is it I am supposed to completely remove?

JC
JC
Linux Mint 16
JerryC58
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:02 pm

Re: I Lost My Task Bar

Postby jahid on Fri Feb 28, 2014 12:59 pm

try refreshing the repository list once.
jahid@HP ProBook 440 G1 Laptop
User avatar
jahid
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:07 pm
Location: Khulna, Bangladesh

Re: I Lost My Task Bar

Postby JerryC58 on Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:27 pm

I tried refreshing the repository list by clicking Edit in the menu then "reload package information". Didn't help.
Also in the Edit menu, I found "Fix Broken Packages". So I marked mint-meta-xfce to install then clicked Fix Broken Packages and got the following errors:

E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.
E: Error, pkgProblemResolver::Resolve generated breaks, this may be caused by held packages.
E: Unable to correct dependencies
E: Error, pkgProblemResolver::Resolve generated breaks, this may be caused by held packages.
E: Unable to correct dependencies

Hope this helps.

JC
JC
Linux Mint 16
JerryC58
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:02 pm

Re: I Lost My Task Bar

Postby jahid on Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:36 pm

JerryC58 wrote:I found "Fix Broken Packages". So I marked mint-meta-xfce to install then clicked Fix Broken Packages and got the following errors:

can you apply "fix broken packages" not marking mint-meta-xfce to install. if you can then try it.
can you close synaptic and post the output of sudo apt-get update here..
jahid@HP ProBook 440 G1 Laptop
User avatar
jahid
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:07 pm
Location: Khulna, Bangladesh

Re: I Lost My Task Bar

Postby JerryC58 on Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:42 pm

I only show a broken package when mint-meta-xfce is marked for install. When I run sudo apt-get update, I get:

jc@jc-Bonobo-Extreme ~ $ sudo apt-get update
[sudo] password for jc:
(process:8256): GConf-WARNING **: Client failed to connect to the D-BUS daemon:
Unable to autolaunch when setuid

(process:8256): Gtk-WARNING **: This process is currently running setuid or setgid.
This is not a supported use of GTK+. You must create a helper
program instead. For further details, see:

http://www.gtk.org/setuid.html

Refusing to initialize GTK+.
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'Error'

It doesn't allow me to input my password.

Different problem?

JC
JC
Linux Mint 16
JerryC58
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:02 pm

Re: I Lost My Task Bar

Postby jahid on Fri Feb 28, 2014 2:19 pm

restart your pc and run that code again. if the error is still the same then it's a peculiar case.
I have dealt with broken packages type problems in past but never seen this type of output for apt-get update.

but i will try to solve it...
Last edited by jahid on Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
jahid@HP ProBook 440 G1 Laptop
User avatar
jahid
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:07 pm
Location: Khulna, Bangladesh

Re: I Lost My Task Bar

Postby jahid on Fri Feb 28, 2014 2:58 pm

Hey, i was installing xfce in my pc. but in midway i had to interrupt my connection and close the synaptic. same problem i saw when i marked mint-meta-xfce for installing.
i marked the mint-meta-xfce for removal and clicked apply then synaptic fixed it (sudo apt-get is running now) for me........but i can't install mint-meta-xfce yet. when i get there i will notify you..
jahid@HP ProBook 440 G1 Laptop
User avatar
jahid
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:07 pm
Location: Khulna, Bangladesh

Re: I Lost My Task Bar

Postby jahid on Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:16 pm

Finally i got there, it's solved for me now. here's the things i had to do:
1. mark the mint-meta-xfce for removal (though it is not installed): mark it for installed first (it will become red), now the option for removal is highlighted, mark for removal. it will say that some packages need to be installed or removed (for me it was 4). now click apply.
2. once it's finished. close synaptic and run
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update

this time it should run without any error.
3. now open synaptic & mark mint-meta-xfce for install.

i hope it solves your problem....good luck
jahid@HP ProBook 440 G1 Laptop
User avatar
jahid
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:07 pm
Location: Khulna, Bangladesh

Re: I Lost My Task Bar

Postby JerryC58 on Fri Feb 28, 2014 4:10 pm

That's not working for me. In step one, when the box is red, it won't allow me to mark any other option. I'm running Mint 15. Maybe that is a difference in Mint 16? Sorry I didn't mention that before.

The other problem is with SUDO. It won't work at all. I have seen that error before but I have no idea what got it started.

JC
JC
Linux Mint 16
JerryC58
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:02 pm

Re: I Lost My Task Bar

Postby JerryC58 on Sat Mar 01, 2014 4:58 pm

I discovered this afternoon I can get to a terminal window where SUDO works by doing CTRL-ALT-F1. If you think of anything that needs terminal commands, I can do them now.
JC
Linux Mint 16
JerryC58
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:02 pm

Re: I Lost My Task Bar

Postby jahid on Sat Mar 01, 2014 5:33 pm

if you can run sudo apt-get update once without any error, your problem will be solved. if it shows any error and that is different than the previous one, then post it here.
jahid@HP ProBook 440 G1 Laptop
User avatar
jahid
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:07 pm
Location: Khulna, Bangladesh

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], Myrmidon83 and 30 guests