Phantom wireless connection

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Phantom wireless connection

Postby RogCat on Thu Aug 21, 2008 2:27 pm

All very new to this linux stuff. Been trying to find a solution to this problem but have turned up nothing. I am using Dayrna

I have a Intel 3945ABG Wireless Network connection on my HP dv6500t laptop. The connection is made and my home wireless network is recognized. It shows around 80% strength however I cannot actually connect to the internet in any way at all (as in open a web page or download updates). I have tried changing DNS numbers and still get nothing.

For sure it will be something simple, but anyway I will appreciate any words of wisdom.
RogCat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:58 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Phantom wireless connection

Postby Husse on Fri Aug 22, 2008 11:43 am

The connection is made

Can you browse your LAN?
Please always be quite specific
Take a look at this post and the one immediately after
viewtopic.php?f=53&t=15550&hilit=intel+wifi#p96383
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Phantom wireless connection

Postby BAD on Fri Aug 22, 2008 2:56 pm

DO you have a firewall set up Firestarter or Guardog? If so turn it off then try it again.
We are the LinuxMint. You will be assimilated. Resistance is futile.
User avatar
BAD
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:55 am

Re: Phantom wireless connection

Postby RogCat on Sat Aug 23, 2008 7:30 pm

Thanks for both replies. Re: firewall. If isn´t included in the dayrna download then I don´t think I have one activated.

The light indicating the wireless connection turns blue, and my house connection comes up. I connect to the house wireless and it shows the bars on the icon indicating a strength of around 80%. Any browsing doesn´t go anywhere as it says there is no connection.

I have tired inputing the data from the other post you mention. But it returns "error fetching interface information: device not found"

I have tried to understand from other locations what I am doing, but as I am complete novice its tough. Nothing like a challenge.

Thanks again.
RogCat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:58 am

Re: Phantom wireless connection

Postby BAD on Sun Aug 24, 2008 1:05 am

Does it connect to the internet with a wired connection?
We are the LinuxMint. You will be assimilated. Resistance is futile.
User avatar
BAD
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:55 am

Re: Phantom wireless connection

Postby RogCat on Sun Aug 24, 2008 3:17 pm

Sorted out but dont know why or how. Checked the wired connection and it immediately showed, though still couldnt get anything on firefox. Decided to try Thunderbird anyway which then connected and then Firefox. So tried the wireless connection again and now that is working as well. ????

Anyway, thanks again for your time and input.

RogCat
RogCat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:58 am

Re: Phantom wireless connection

Postby RogCat on Sun Aug 24, 2008 3:55 pm

Maybe wrote to soon. I had to do a reboot for a Nvidia driver and then there was nothing. Disabled the Nvidia driver again and rebooted again and still nothing.
Trying to remember what else I did that could have lead to the connection happening and then stopping again.

RC
RogCat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:58 am

Re: Phantom wireless connection

Postby Husse on Sun Aug 24, 2008 5:35 pm

Do you have a nforce motherboard?
I've seen some really strange reports that some module the nvidia video card is using is interfering with some nvidia module for networking - can't remember if it was wireless or wired though
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Phantom wireless connection

Postby RogCat on Tue Aug 26, 2008 11:12 am

Hello,
The laptop is a Intel (R) 2 Duo Core T7250. The Nvidia car is the geforce 8400M GS

Will play around with things agan today and let you know if I make any progress.

Cheeers,

RC
RogCat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:58 am

Re: Phantom wireless connection

Postby AK Dave on Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:02 pm

You connect to the router, but the router doesn't let you talk to the internet? No love with wireless, switch to wired and get internet, then switch back to wireless and you're still good.

I think you need to start with your router and with DHCP.

Get a wireless connection and go to 192.168.1.1 and see if you can talk directly to your router. R-click your network icon and check your connection information to see if you've been assigned an IP. If you haven't, you're not getting DHCP. If you're not assigned an IP, your router isn't letting you talk even though you have a "connection". Disable DHCP on your end by assigning yourself a static IP. See if that helps.

My theory is that your router is slow on DHCP to assign you an IP, and thus also isn't forwarding your TCP traffic upstream. Having a "connection" just means there is a link, wired or wireless, and the "strength meter" says nothing about the traffic on that link.
User avatar
AK Dave
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Anchorage, AK USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 20 guests