How to load HAL and Support for Atheros wireless at boot.

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

How to load HAL and Support for Atheros wireless at boot.

Postby hank863 on Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:50 pm

I did something and now "Atheros Hardware Access Layer (HAL)" and "Support for Atheros 802.11 wireless LAN cards" won't load at boot. I managed to get my Atheros AR5007 wireless working with ndiswrapper, but it only works if theses are enabled. When I boot into Mint and go to "Hardware Drivers", the checkboxes for the two options are checked as "Enabled", but "Not in Use". If I disable and re enable them, my wifi starts up and everything works fine. How can I prevent my needing to intervene?
hank863
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 6:50 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How to load HAL and Support for Atheros wireless at boot.

Postby Katzedecimal on Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:24 pm

Some people have reported problems with using Ndiswrapper with the Atheros AR5007. I used the MadWifi driver to get my husband's Atheros AR5007EG card running; it's been very stable.

I followed these directions successfully:

http://madberry.org/2008/08/how-to-get-atheros-ar242x-wireless-to-work-2/

Hope this helps :)
"Dance without sleeping, I'll dance without fear
Dance without senses, no message I hear
Dance without feeling, I'll dance 'til I'm numb
Dance 'til I think I can overcome" -- Melissa Etheridge
User avatar
Katzedecimal
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 7:20 pm
Location: The Great White North

Re: How to load HAL and Support for Atheros wireless at boot.

Postby hank863 on Tue Sep 02, 2008 9:07 pm

Thank You! I prefer Madwifi but couldn't get it working. Everything works great.
hank863
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 6:50 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], qbektrix and 18 guests