Keep monitor configuration

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Keep monitor configuration

Postby bjhkjhkrdjbv on Tue Aug 19, 2014 9:12 am

How can I make Linux Mint keep the monitor configuration (including dualscreen configuration) and NOT try to autodetect monitors at startup?
Thanks
bjhkjhkrdjbv
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:25 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Keep monitor configuration

Postby nomko on Tue Aug 19, 2014 9:48 am

Please provide us with more info like:
- which version of Mint are you using?
- what monitor do you want to keep?
- what are the specifications of your system

Please read also the forum rules and especially rule #5: http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=83444

The more info you provide us, the better we can help you!
MSI GE70-2PE*Quad core Intel Core i7-4710HQ*Kingston 16 GB RAM*Intel 4th Gen. Integr. GPU/NVidia GeForce GTX860M*Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2200/Intel Wireless 3160*Sitecom X5-N600 Router (WLR-5100)
Linux tips and tricks
User avatar
nomko
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2943
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: Keep monitor configuration

Postby bjhkjhkrdjbv on Thu Aug 21, 2014 5:53 am

Mint 17, I want to keep the monitor configuration (resolution, refresh rate) and the dual screen configuration (LCD left of CRT, no mirroring...) and do not want the system to autodetect the capabilities of the monitors (which it gets completely false) at startup and I do also not want the system to react to the fact that the CRT is off most of the time (only on when I use it). My graphics card is radeon 3450. I have a script that sets the resolutions right bypassing the control panel but the system always resets them at next restart because it thinks those monitors cannot do these resolutions. I get an error message how the monitor configuration could not be restored.
bjhkjhkrdjbv
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:25 am

Re: Keep monitor configuration

Postby nomko on Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:09 am

bjhkjhkrdjbv wrote:Mint 17

Mint 17 ....... :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: MATE? Cinnamon? Xfce? KDE? Even the desktop environment could make a big difference...
MSI GE70-2PE*Quad core Intel Core i7-4710HQ*Kingston 16 GB RAM*Intel 4th Gen. Integr. GPU/NVidia GeForce GTX860M*Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2200/Intel Wireless 3160*Sitecom X5-N600 Router (WLR-5100)
Linux tips and tricks
User avatar
nomko
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2943
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: Keep monitor configuration

Postby I2k4 on Thu Aug 21, 2014 2:12 pm

bjhkjhkrdjbv wrote:Mint 17, I want to keep the monitor configuration (resolution, refresh rate) and the dual screen configuration (LCD left of CRT, no mirroring...) and do not want the system to autodetect the capabilities of the monitors (which it gets completely false) at startup and I do also not want the system to react to the fact that the CRT is off most of the time (only on when I use it). My graphics card is radeon 3450. I have a script that sets the resolutions right bypassing the control panel but the system always resets them at next restart because it thinks those monitors cannot do these resolutions. I get an error message how the monitor configuration could not be restored.


I'm no expert but this works for me on a single monitor and may help if you have found and are using correct XRANDR newmode but losing your settings on reboot - I haven't done dual screen but seems likely you could enter settings for each screen separately in the .xprofile script. I made hidden files visible, created home/mint/.xprofile as a new empty text file. Pasted the xrandr sequence into the file, as is. Right clicked to Properties > Permissions and checked Allow Executing File as a Program. You may be able to google .xprofile for a dual monitor arrangement.

viewtopic.php?f=90&t=172967

When I reboot, it starts to "autodetect" but you see the cursor shrink when it runs .xprofile and I get the 1900 X 1200 that Mint fails to detect - I always test these things on a persistent Live USB before risking my hard drive installations. Good luck,
Test driving Mint 17.1 Cinnamon via Persistent Live USB on a W7 Lenovo desktop with peripherals, and on a W10tp Dell laptop. Dual booting Mint 16 XFCE with W7 on an Acer netbook, testing Live M17 XFCE.
I2k4
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:33 pm

Re: Keep monitor configuration

Postby bjhkjhkrdjbv on Sat Aug 23, 2014 3:08 pm

Thank you.
.xprofile half-works. It gets the correct resolution but something then still "corrects" the vertical frequency to 60 Hz, which looks horrible on a CRT.
bjhkjhkrdjbv
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:25 am

Re: Keep monitor configuration

Postby I2k4 on Sat Aug 23, 2014 4:13 pm

bjhkjhkrdjbv wrote:Thank you.
.xprofile half-works. It gets the correct resolution but something then still "corrects" the vertical frequency to 60 Hz, which looks horrible on a CRT.


Glad you got something out of it - but what did you get from the "$ cvt ..." command? I got the 60 in the "newmode" because that is correct for my Samsung but would expect the correct setting for a different monitor. I'd also try manually changing the " ... _60" in the two command sequences to whatever the right number is, if you know it.
Test driving Mint 17.1 Cinnamon via Persistent Live USB on a W7 Lenovo desktop with peripherals, and on a W10tp Dell laptop. Dual booting Mint 16 XFCE with W7 on an Acer netbook, testing Live M17 XFCE.
I2k4
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:33 pm

Re: Keep monitor configuration

Postby bjhkjhkrdjbv on Mon Aug 25, 2014 9:51 am

The text is this:
xrandr --newmode "1600x1200_85.00" 235.00 1600 1728 1896 2192 1200 1203 1207 1262 -hsync +vsync

xrandr --addmode VGA-0 1600x1200_85.00

xrandr --output VGA-0 --mode 1600x1200_85.00

xrandr --output DVI-0 --mode 1280x1024_75.00

When it is in xprofile I see the screen switch twice so apparently it first works, then some feature corrects it. When I run it afterwards it works.
bjhkjhkrdjbv
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:25 am

Re: Keep monitor configuration

Postby I2k4 on Mon Aug 25, 2014 4:38 pm

bjhkjhkrdjbv wrote:The text is this:
xrandr --newmode "1600x1200_85.00" 235.00 1600 1728 1896 2192 1200 1203 1207 1262 -hsync +vsync

xrandr --addmode VGA-0 1600x1200_85.00

xrandr --output VGA-0 --mode 1600x1200_85.00

xrandr --output DVI-0 --mode 1280x1024_75.00

When it is in xprofile I see the screen switch twice so apparently it first works, then some feature corrects it. When I run it afterwards it works.


Again I'm no expert, but I notice you have the full three commands for the 1600x1200 screen but only one tacked on for the 1280x1024 screen. Is it the last one that's not working? I'd expected you would need the correct full three line sequence for each screen. You might be able to set the display to single screen without the VGA-O - to isolate the DVI-O screen. Then run cvi 1280x1024 to get the correct "newmode" entry for that screen. That's probably as much as I can suggest.
Test driving Mint 17.1 Cinnamon via Persistent Live USB on a W7 Lenovo desktop with peripherals, and on a W10tp Dell laptop. Dual booting Mint 16 XFCE with W7 on an Acer netbook, testing Live M17 XFCE.
I2k4
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:33 pm

Re: Keep monitor configuration

Postby Spearmint2 on Mon Aug 25, 2014 10:45 pm

You can't change JUST the refresh rate and expect it to work correctly.

For Example;

Code: Select all
sage: cvt [-v|--verbose] [-r|--reduced] X Y [refresh]

 -v|--verbose : Warn about CVT standard adherance.
 -r|--reduced : Create a mode with reduced blanking (default: normal blanking).
            X : Desired horizontal resolution (multiple of 8, required).
            Y : Desired vertical resolution (required).
      refresh : Desired refresh rate (default: 60.0Hz).

Calculates VESA CVT (Coordinated Video Timing) modelines for use with X.

mint16@mint16 ~ $ cvt 1280x1024 60
# 1280x60 51.40 Hz (CVT) hsync: 3.91 kHz; pclk: 6.25 MHz
Modeline "1280x60_60.00"    6.25  1280 1320 1440 1600  60 63 73 76 -hsync +vsync

mint16@mint16 ~ $ cvt 1280x1024 70
# 1280x70 50.87 Hz (CVT) hsync: 4.38 kHz; pclk: 7.00 MHz
Modeline "1280x70_60.00"    7.00  1280 1320 1440 1600  70 73 83 86 -hsync +vsync

mint16@mint16 ~ $ cvt 1280x1024 80
# 1280x80 52.08 Hz (CVT) hsync: 5.00 kHz; pclk: 8.00 MHz
Modeline "1280x80_60.00"    8.00  1280 1320 1440 1600  80 83 93 96 -hsync +vsync


It would seem my old LCD monitor is perhaps locked to 60 for the refresh, but even so, you can see the modeline changes according to the desired refresh.
All things go better with Mint. Mint julep, mint jelly, mint gum, candy mints, pillow mints, peppermint, chocolate mints, spearmint,....
User avatar
Spearmint2
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3444
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Keep monitor configuration

Postby I2k4 on Tue Aug 26, 2014 9:48 am

I entered my cvt command differently - like this:

mint@mint ~ $ cvt 1900 1200
# 1904x1200 59.93 Hz (CVT) hsync: 74.61 kHz; pclk: 191.00 MHz
Modeline "1904x1200_60.00" 191.00 1904 2032 2232 2560 1200 1203 1213 1245 -hsync +vsync

I didn't specify the refresh rate but let Linux identify it - as 60 for my Samsung LCD. You are getting a different Modeline by specifying the refresh rate - cvt seems to read it as if the refresh rate you specify is screen resolution of 1280x80 instead of 1280x1064:

Modeline "1280x80_60.00" 8.00 1280 1320 1440 1600 80 83 93 96 -hsync +vsync

I would try just entering

cvt 1280 1064

Then see if refresh identified by cvt is still stuck at 60 - if it is, I'm out of ideas since the cvt result was correct for my monitor.
Test driving Mint 17.1 Cinnamon via Persistent Live USB on a W7 Lenovo desktop with peripherals, and on a W10tp Dell laptop. Dual booting Mint 16 XFCE with W7 on an Acer netbook, testing Live M17 XFCE.
I2k4
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:33 pm

Re: Keep monitor configuration

Postby Spearmint2 on Tue Aug 26, 2014 12:15 pm

The standard aspect ratio for 1280 on a 16:9 aspect ratio is 1280 × 720
The standard aspect ratio for 1280 on a 4:3 aspect ratio is 1280 × 960


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Graphics_d ... resolution

When I put in the correct figures I get this, first for 4:3 aspect and then for 16:9 aspect.

Code: Select all
 ~ $ cvt -v 1280 960 75

# 1280x960 74.86 Hz (CVT 1.23M3) hsync: 75.23 kHz; pclk: 130.00 MHz
Modeline "1280x960_75.00"  130.00  1280 1368 1504 1728  960 963 967 1005 -hsync +vsync

 ~ $ cvt -v 1280 720 75
# 1280x720 74.78 Hz (CVT 0.92M9) hsync: 56.46 kHz; pclk: 95.75 MHz
Modeline "1280x720_75.00"   95.75  1280 1360 1488 1696  720 723 728 755 -hsync +vsync
Last edited by Spearmint2 on Tue Aug 26, 2014 12:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
All things go better with Mint. Mint julep, mint jelly, mint gum, candy mints, pillow mints, peppermint, chocolate mints, spearmint,....
User avatar
Spearmint2
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3444
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Keep monitor configuration

Postby I2k4 on Tue Aug 26, 2014 12:29 pm

My mistake - I got the 1024 from your unsuccessful .xprofile posted Aug 25, above. You seem to be getting a correct setting for Newmode at 75.

What I would try for your dual monitors would be two complete three line entries in .xprofile - a separate one for each monitor. Maybe like this:

xrandr --newmode "1600x1200_85.00" 235.00 1600 1728 1896 2192 1200 1203 1207 1262 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode VGA-0 1600x1200_85.00
xrandr --output VGA-0 --mode 1600x1200_85.00
xrandr --newmode "1280x720_75.00" 95.75 1280 1360 1488 1696 720 723 728 755 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode DVI-0 1280x720_75.00
xrandr --output DVI-0 --mode 1280x720_75.00

I've been using my single monitor .xprofile for some weeks and it's been stellar.
Test driving Mint 17.1 Cinnamon via Persistent Live USB on a W7 Lenovo desktop with peripherals, and on a W10tp Dell laptop. Dual booting Mint 16 XFCE with W7 on an Acer netbook, testing Live M17 XFCE.
I2k4
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:33 pm

Re: Keep monitor configuration

Postby Spearmint2 on Tue Aug 26, 2014 12:43 pm

I2k4 wrote:I entered my cvt command differently - like this:

mint@mint ~ $ cvt 1900 1200
# 1904x1200 59.93 Hz (CVT) hsync: 74.61 kHz; pclk: 191.00 MHz
Modeline "1904x1200_60.00" 191.00 1904 2032 2232 2560 1200 1203 1213 1245 -hsync +vsync

I didn't specify the refresh rate but let Linux identify it - as 60 for my Samsung LCD. You are getting a different Modeline by specifying the refresh rate - cvt seems to read it as if the refresh rate you specify is screen resolution of 1280x80 instead of 1280x1064:

Modeline "1280x80_60.00" 8.00 1280 1320 1440 1600 80 83 93 96 -hsync +vsync

I would try just entering

cvt 1280 1064

Then see if refresh identified by cvt is still stuck at 60 - if it is, I'm out of ideas since the cvt result was correct for my monitor.


Yes, I put the X in there and that was wrong form, so results were wrong.
All things go better with Mint. Mint julep, mint jelly, mint gum, candy mints, pillow mints, peppermint, chocolate mints, spearmint,....
User avatar
Spearmint2
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3444
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: adfd1, andrewgouw, Cosmo., drewt333, Frank17913, Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Nick_Nuclear, RinusvW, USAjohn and 32 guests