Screen Brightness

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Screen Brightness

Postby StarWars2014 on Wed Aug 20, 2014 8:34 pm

Hello,
I am currently new to Linux Mint, got it a about a week ago and I have Linux Mint 17. I have a emachines desktop and the screen is really bright for me and I don't know how to turn it down. A little help?
StarWars2014
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Screen Brightness

Postby all41 on Wed Aug 20, 2014 10:52 pm

Can you not control the brightness and backlight settings via the adjustment menu on the monitor itself?
ImageGoodbye Bill.. Windows close and doors open, the adventure begins--
all41
Level 5
Level 5

Postby StarWars2014 on Sat Aug 23, 2014 12:18 pm

Yes, I can but the thing is it won't let me even go on the brightness, its shaded out. :(
StarWars2014
Level 1
Level 1

Postby all41 on Sat Aug 23, 2014 1:18 pm

On some monitor menu there are picture preset modes, like Vivid, Night, Day, Custom or User etc. The video levels are preset by these
and will not allow individual picture adjustments for brightness, contrast, color level. etc.
By setting the preset mode to 'Custom' or 'User' (or whatever your monitor menu calls them) the levels
become adjustable.
ImageGoodbye Bill.. Windows close and doors open, the adventure begins--
all41
Level 5
Level 5

Postby PatH57 on Sat Aug 23, 2014 1:31 pm

what is your desktop environment? Xfce, Mate ,Cinnamon?
People disagree with me. I just ignore them.
(Linus Torvalds, regarding the use of C++ for the Linux kernel.)