Netflix HTML5 (Solved)

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Netflix HTML5 (Solved)

Postby jt01 on Fri Aug 22, 2014 9:59 pm

I attempted to get Netflix going on Google Chrome in HTML5 by following the instructions at http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/can-now-watch-netflix-linux-natively-heres-how/. I installed the beta Google Chrome on a fresh install of Mint 17 Mate, then tried to install the libnss3 components using Package Installer. I get the following error message when instaling the libnss3-1d package: Error: Breaks existing package libnss3-1d Dependency libnss3 (=2:3.15.4-1ubuntu7) and similiar messages with the other 2 components.

On the off-chance it would still work, I installed and configured the Agent Switcher and gave it a try - no luck.

What can I do to get the 3.16.3 version of libnss3 installed?

Thanks in advance for all advice.
Last edited by jt01 on Tue Aug 26, 2014 3:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
jt01
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 9:24 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Netflix HTML5

Postby WharfRat on Sat Aug 23, 2014 12:51 am

Mint Qiana uses Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty repos so according to that site you would have to run Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic.

There are dependency issues with the newer version of libnss3 and the Trusty repos.
Image
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 12
Level 12
 
Posts: 4276
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Netflix HTML5

Postby jt01 on Sat Aug 23, 2014 8:39 am

Thanks for the response. I also noticed the libnss3 component files say amd_64 - I have an Intel machine, specifically an Acer 4810T laptop. Is there a different version for Intel 64 bit? Once I have the righr version, how do I get around the 14.04 dependecies? What is Utopic? Or am I better off just waiting for Chrome 37 to become the stable version? Thanks again for the help.
jt01
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 9:24 pm

Re: Netflix HTML5

Postby WharfRat on Sat Aug 23, 2014 9:13 am

jt01 wrote:Thanks for the response. I also noticed the libnss3 component files say amd_64 - I have an Intel machine, specifically an Acer 4810T laptop. Is there a different version for Intel 64 bit? Once I have the righr version, how do I get around the 14.04 dependecies? What is Utopic? Or am I better off just waiting for Chrome 37 to become the stable version? Thanks again for the help.


amd64 and x86_64 in the same thing. There's no special architecture for intel processors. The name amd64 just stuck. This site breaks it down https://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/

Trusty and Qiana are just names assigned to the release. The latest ubuntu, a work in progress, is called Utopic, This site shows ubuntu releases and code names http://distrowatch.com/table.php?distribution=ubuntu (Scroll down to the grid)

As described there 14.04 LTS is Trusty and Mint's Qiana is built on Trusty's repos

Code: Select all
bill@qiana ~ $ grep  trust /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu trusty main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu trusty-updates main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ trusty-security main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ trusty partner
bill@qiana ~ $


You could try changing the trusty repos to utopic, be be prepared for a major meltdown :(

There's a ppa here you might want to check out http://www.linux.org/threads/netflix-is-now-viewable-on-linux-workaround.6431/#post-22530

Good luck :wink:
Image
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 12
Level 12
 
Posts: 4276
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Netflix HTML5

Postby jt01 on Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:20 am

I am aware of the pipelight/silverlight method, but hoped to avoid the overhead for that by using the HTML5 procedure. I am not willing to risk a major meltdown, so I guess my alternatives are pipelight/silverlight or wait for Google Chrome 37 to be the stable version. When this happens, will the libnss3 libraries be updated under Qiana/Ubuntu 14.04 to the new versions, allowing Netflix to work? Thanks again for your help.
jt01
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 9:24 pm

Re: Netflix HTML5

Postby WharfRat on Sat Aug 23, 2014 12:26 pm

jt01 wrote:I am aware of the pipelight/silverlight method, but hoped to avoid the overhead for that by using the HTML5 procedure. I am not willing to risk a major meltdown, so I guess my alternatives are pipelight/silverlight or wait for Google Chrome 37 to be the stable version. When this happens, will the libnss3 libraries be updated under Qiana/Ubuntu 14.04 to the new versions, allowing Netflix to work? Thanks again for your help.


I really don't know if they will migrate the newer Chrome and libnss3 libraries to Qiana. I haven't seen any succession planes in the pipeline either.

Can you dual boot Utopic and Qiana :?: That would probably be the easiest thing to do at this time.
Image
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 12
Level 12
 
Posts: 4276
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Netflix HTML5

Postby jt01 on Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:16 pm

Success !!

I did some further research and decided to try the method detailed here: http://www.webupd8.org/2014/08/how-to-enable-html5-playback-for.html as it specifically had a procedure for Ubuntu 14.04. I'm willing to risk some instability as I mostly use the laptop (Acer 4810T) for watching videos, surfing the net, etc. and could completely reinstall if necessary. So, the libnss3 installs went very well, Chrome Beta was still installed from my previous attempt, and Netflix worked. I've used it for several hours with only 2 problems, neither of which I would attribute to the HTML5 procedure. I found that adjusting the brightness during Netflix playback can cause the video to lock up and HD playback overtaxed the relatively slow wi-fi at my local coffee house, so if I adjust the brightness before starting Netflix and set my Netflix account for Medium playback, I'm good to go. Thanks again, WharfRat.
jt01
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 9:24 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], cecar, Google Adsense [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, rolin and 23 guests