Compiling QTDIR environment variable must be set

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Compiling QTDIR environment variable must be set

Postby Mint2be on Sat Aug 23, 2014 4:35 pm

:?:

I get this when compiling: configure: error: QTDIR environment variable must be set

How do I set it? Can't find anything concrete online. I've gotten this far in a compile, but not I'm stuck.

TIA
Linux Mint 17, codename "Qiana," Cinnamon 64-bit
Windows 7 dual boot

Image
User avatar
Mint2be
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 5:59 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Compiling QTDIR environment variable must be set

Postby WharfRat on Sat Aug 23, 2014 6:41 pm

Compiling what :?

The README might mention that you have to set that in the environment with

Code: Select all
export QTDIR="/path/to/somwhere"
Image
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 12
Level 12
 
Posts: 4271
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Compiling QTDIR environment variable must be set

Postby Mint2be on Sat Aug 23, 2014 7:21 pm

Ok, I got past that, but now I have another error. The read me says: If it is not found on your system, please use
./configure --with-lrelease-bin=LRELEASE_BINARY_WITH_PATH.

What does that mean?

Newbie here :wink:
Linux Mint 17, codename "Qiana," Cinnamon 64-bit
Windows 7 dual boot

Image
User avatar
Mint2be
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 5:59 pm

Re: Compiling QTDIR environment variable must be set

Postby WharfRat on Sat Aug 23, 2014 7:46 pm

I've never encountered --with-lrelease-bin= so I couldn't say for sure. However it appears to to be similar to --with-local-prefix=/tools which tells gcc to search for locally installed include files. The default location is / usr/ local so it's forcing an override of the default setting.

So it seems that LRELEASE_BINARY_WITH_PATH should be set just like QTDIR
Image
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 12
Level 12
 
Posts: 4271
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Compiling QTDIR environment variable must be set

Postby Mint2be on Sat Aug 23, 2014 7:57 pm

WharfRat wrote:I've never encountered --with-lrelease-bin= so I couldn't say for sure. However it appears to to be similar to --with-local-prefix=/tools which tells gcc to search for locally installed include files. The default location is / usr/ local so it's forcing an override of the default setting.

So it seems that LRELEASE_BINARY_WITH_PATH should be set just like QTDIR



Here is the full text of what the readme says:
- qmake is searched in $QTDIR/bin, /usr/bin, /usr/local/bin,
/usr/lib/qt3/bin and in directories in $PATH. If you have
qmake installed in other directory, use:
./configure --with-qmake=QMAKE_BINARY_WITH_PATH

- QT comes with lrelease binary which is used for
localization data files translation. This binary is
searched in $QTDIR/bin, /usr/bin, /usr/local/bin,
/usr/lib/qt3/bin and in directories in $PATH.
If it is not found on your system, please use
./configure --with-lrelease-bin=LRELEASE_BINARY_WITH_PATH

In Synaptic there is qmake4 and 5, but no qmake 3, which is what it says it can't find. I've spent way too much time on this, but I really want to accomplish it for my own knowledge.
Linux Mint 17, codename "Qiana," Cinnamon 64-bit
Windows 7 dual boot

Image
User avatar
Mint2be
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 5:59 pm

Re: Compiling QTDIR environment variable must be set

Postby WharfRat on Sat Aug 23, 2014 8:32 pm

- QT comes with lrelease binary which is used for
localization data files translation. This binary is
searched in $QTDIR/bin, /usr/bin


Code: Select all
bill@qiana /media/linuxshared $ whereis lrelease
lrelease: /usr/bin/lrelease /usr/bin/X11/lrelease

So it's in the search path /usr/bin :?

What did you set QTDIR to :?:
Image
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 12
Level 12
 
Posts: 4271
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Compiling QTDIR environment variable must be set

Postby Mint2be on Sat Aug 23, 2014 10:29 pm

I guess I don't understand what I am doing. What is the read me instructing me to do? What does the code you posted mean? Sorry, but I'm new to all this compiling. :?
Linux Mint 17, codename "Qiana," Cinnamon 64-bit
Windows 7 dual boot

Image
User avatar
Mint2be
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 5:59 pm

Re: Compiling QTDIR environment variable must be set

Postby WharfRat on Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:06 pm

Mint2be wrote:I guess I don't understand what I am doing. What is the read me instructing me to do? What does the code you posted mean? Sorry, but I'm new to all this compiling. :?


According to the message /usr/bin is one of the places where it searches for the binary lrelease.

So when I ask

Code: Select all
whereis lrelease


it comes back with /usr/bin/lrelease

So it's certainly there, at least on my system - what about yours :?:
Image
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 12
Level 12
 
Posts: 4271
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Compiling QTDIR environment variable must be set

Postby Mint2be on Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:09 pm

whereis lrelease
lrelease: /usr/bin/lrelease /usr/bin/X11/lrelease
Linux Mint 17, codename "Qiana," Cinnamon 64-bit
Windows 7 dual boot

Image
User avatar
Mint2be
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 5:59 pm

Re: Compiling QTDIR environment variable must be set

Postby WharfRat on Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:45 pm

Well a little more digging and lrelease is a symlink /usr/bin/lrelease -> qtchooser

When I try
Code: Select all
lrelease -list-versions

it doesn't work, but

but this works
Code: Select all
bill@qiana ~/script $ qtchooser -list-versions
4
5
default
qt4-i386-linux-gnu
qt4-x86_64-linux-gnu
qt4
qt5-x86_64-linux-gnu
qt5


I really don't know anything about this app, but maybe try

Code: Select all
export LRELEASE_BINARY_WITH_PATH=$(which qtchooser)


I don't see anything mentioning version 3 though :?
Image
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 12
Level 12
 
Posts: 4271
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Compiling QTDIR environment variable must be set

Postby Spearmint2 on Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:57 pm

Like your profile name.

Is the program under your home folder but looking only in root folders for it?
All things go better with Mint. Mint julep, mint jelly, mint gum, candy mints, pillow mints, peppermint, chocolate mints, spearmint,....
User avatar
Spearmint2
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3262
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Compiling QTDIR environment variable must be set

Postby Mint2be on Sun Aug 24, 2014 12:05 am

Now I'm back to the original QTDIR environment variable must be set error. I think it's no longer worth trying to compile this :evil:
Linux Mint 17, codename "Qiana," Cinnamon 64-bit
Windows 7 dual boot

Image
User avatar
Mint2be
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 5:59 pm

Re: Compiling QTDIR environment variable must be set

Postby WharfRat on Sun Aug 24, 2014 12:24 am

Mint2be wrote:Now I'm back to the original QTDIR environment variable must be set error. I think it's no longer worth trying to compile this :evil:

Why are you keeping what you're attempting to compile a secret :?:
Image
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 12
Level 12
 
Posts: 4271
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Compiling QTDIR environment variable must be set

Postby Mint2be on Sun Aug 24, 2014 12:27 am

It is PDFedit, which I don't really even need because I have an addon for Firefox that works well, but once I got started I didn't want to give up :|

I actually mentioned that it was PDFedit in another post related to this one about how to install a program from a folder.
Linux Mint 17, codename "Qiana," Cinnamon 64-bit
Windows 7 dual boot

Image
User avatar
Mint2be
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 5:59 pm

Re: Compiling QTDIR environment variable must be set

Postby WharfRat on Sun Aug 24, 2014 12:57 am

Is this package installed :?:

libqt4-qt3support - Qt 3 compatibility library for Qt 4

It's not on mine :?
Image
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 12
Level 12
 
Posts: 4271
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Compiling QTDIR environment variable must be set

Postby Mint2be on Sun Aug 24, 2014 8:17 am

WharfRat wrote:Is this package installed :?:

libqt4-qt3support - Qt 3 compatibility library for Qt 4

It's not on mine :?



Yep. It's installed already.
Linux Mint 17, codename "Qiana," Cinnamon 64-bit
Windows 7 dual boot

Image
User avatar
Mint2be
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 5:59 pm

Re: Compiling QTDIR environment variable must be set

Postby WharfRat on Sun Aug 24, 2014 10:46 am

This app seems to suffering from outdatedness. I've seen references pertaining to installing qt3-dev-tools dated December 2005.

It's just not going to fly :(
Image
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 12
Level 12
 
Posts: 4271
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Compiling QTDIR environment variable must be set

Postby Mint2be on Sun Aug 24, 2014 11:27 am

WharfRat wrote:This app seems to suffering from outdatedness. I've seen references pertaining to installing qt3-dev-tools dated December 2005.

It's just not going to fly :(


I agree. At least it was good practice :mrgreen:
Linux Mint 17, codename "Qiana," Cinnamon 64-bit
Windows 7 dual boot

Image
User avatar
Mint2be
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 5:59 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: asigachev, Bing [Bot], ClutchDisc, Google [Bot], Mute Ant and 18 guests