Monitor Screen Size

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Monitor Screen Size

Postby DanDare on Fri Oct 31, 2008 10:50 am

I'm new to Linux, I have tried other live CD versions of Linux and could not get used to them and kept going back to WindowsXP.
Tried Mint and it's great, have removed XP as this Mint seems to be just right and easy to use.
My problem is keeping the screen size to fill my 17in monitor. After Mint installation I am left with a quarter inch black line at the bottom of the monitor.
I use the monitor (H-Position and V-Position) to correct it and adjust it to fill the monitor screen. The problem is when I leave a full screen game "Arena" my monitor changes back to having a black quarter inch line at the bottom, I then have to reset the monitor settings again.
Is there a way to fix this and keep my monitor settings from changing ?

DanDare

Motherboard: ASUS M2N-X Plus.
Graphics: Nvidia 8600 GT
Monitor: Acer AL1717=17in
DanDare
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 6:45 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Monitor Screen Size

Postby Husse on Sat Nov 01, 2008 2:54 pm

I think both the graphics card and the monitor has DVI
Use that and get rid of the problem, because to my knowledge this does not happen with DVI
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Monitor Screen Size

Postby DanDare on Sat Nov 01, 2008 6:39 pm

Husse wrote:I think both the graphics card and the monitor has DVI
Use that and get rid of the problem, because to my knowledge this does not happen with DVI


Thanks for the reply.
How do I use DVI ?

It's not the resolution of 1280x1024 that is being altered, it's the V-Position of the monitor that is not being held by the system ?
And this is reducing the visual size of the visable screen leaving a half inch black line at the bottom of the screen.


Thanks. This is what /etc/X11/xorg.conf shows.

# xorg.conf (X.Org X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
# (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
# sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
Device "Configured Video Device"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
Defaultdepth 24
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "NoLogo" "True"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "gb"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
screen "Default Screen"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

DanDare
DanDare
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 6:45 pm

Re: Monitor Screen Size

Postby Husse on Sun Nov 02, 2008 7:23 am

How do I use DVI

DVI is one of the two ways you can connect to the monitor and it is digital leaving no room for the kind of errors you have with VGA
I would say it is impossible to get such errors with DVI
Your monitor has two connections and should have been delivered with two cables
As far as I know the Nvidia 8600 GT has VGA and DVI
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Monitor Screen Size

Postby DanDare on Sun Nov 02, 2008 10:01 am

Husse wrote:
How do I use DVI

DVI is one of the two ways you can connect to the monitor and it is digital leaving no room for the kind of errors you have with VGA
I would say it is impossible to get such errors with DVI
Your monitor has two connections and should have been delivered with two cables
As far as I know the Nvidia 8600 GT has VGA and DVI


Problem? my monitor came with one cable, and there is no DVI connection on it.
DanDare
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 6:45 pm

Re: Monitor Screen Size

Postby DanDare on Sun Nov 02, 2008 10:22 am

Have been told it is options HSyncStart, HsyncEnd, VSyncStart, VsyncEnd and HTotal, VTotal that will control it.
How do I insert this and there values into /etc/X11/xorg.conf.

This is what /etc/X11/xorg.conf shows.


# xorg.conf (X.Org X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
# (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
# sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
Device "Configured Video Device"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
Defaultdepth 24
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "NoLogo" "True"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "gb"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
screen "Default Screen"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection


DanDare
DanDare
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 6:45 pm

Re: Monitor Screen Size

Postby Husse on Sun Nov 02, 2008 2:28 pm

According to this page
http://us.acer.com/public/page9.do?sp=p ... 3801956808
your monitor has VGA (analog D-sub) and DVI-D
That is for the US market so it may be different in other places
Look carefully - there may be a hatch that covers the connector, that's the case for my Samsung
You may have to use a modeline. Got to this page and enter what you want to have
http://sh.nu/nvidia/gtf.php
Insert the line(s) in 'Section "Monitor"' in xorg.conf
I can't guarantee that it helps, but it's a very useful option for some problems
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], cshong0618 and 45 guests