Cpu Speed

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Cpu Speed

Postby fred0843 on Sat Nov 01, 2008 11:55 pm

I'm running a AMD 64 FX 55 CPU chip.

I have both Linux-Mint 5 and Linux-Mint KDE 5 installed.When I check the CPU speed Mint KDE 5 shows me the correct speed 26xxx,but Linux Mint 5 show it at only 12xxxx.Why is this happening ?
fred0843
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:59 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Cpu Speed

Postby grimdestripador on Mon Nov 03, 2008 3:33 am

Just guessing that Main and KDE editions have differing power settings.
I would believe this to mean your main installtion is enabling speed-step. You would ramp your speed up by selecting "Performace" option on your power saver options.

I'm also guessing that you added an extra x as your computer probably doesn't run at 12000 mhz
User avatar
grimdestripador
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1069
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:26 am

Re: Cpu Speed

Postby fred0843 on Mon Nov 03, 2008 10:23 pm

Yes 1200 mhz
I think it may be Cool n Quiet on the motherboard. idling back the CPU when not needed1
fred0843
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:59 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], budhochat, Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, NChewie and 27 guests