Network authentication issue.

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Network authentication issue.

Postby Bulpup on Sat Nov 08, 2008 5:42 pm

I have a cable modem and have been trying to get Mint to recognize the connection. I've cycled the modem, tried booting the machine with the cable plugged into it, tried setting the network connection to dhcp, tried the "Enable Networking" toggle to renew the lease. Nothing. However, this time when I clicked "Unlock" in the network settings and input my password when asked, the "Authenticate" button remained depressed for a moment, then the window gave itself a little shake and the password field cleared, followed by a little popup window that reads, "Could not authenticate" "An unexpected error has occurred." Rebooting the system didn't do anything and I'm not sure what went wrong. Any ideas?
Bulpup
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:35 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Network authentication issue.

Postby celtic426 on Sun Nov 09, 2008 11:28 pm

Wait so Mint won't recognize ur cable internet connection? Is it coming right from the modem? What brand/type of modem are you using? Are you using a working Cat 5 cable? Check the cable on each end that is snaps in. Sorry, but this could just be me, but I haven't seen problems with linux not seeing a cable connection.

And that authenticate thing, that is just to unlock those settings so that you can change the settings pertaining to the connection. Nothing in there should really matter until you get a connection.
celtic426
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 10:03 pm

Re: Network authentication issue.

Postby Bulpup on Mon Nov 10, 2008 6:47 am

It's connected directly to the modem, yes, and it's a Motorola SB5102. I know the physical cable is fine because it still works with my old computer. Maybe I should try reinstalling Mint or something. :?
Bulpup
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:35 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Elifia and 32 guests