How do I generate a hardware report ?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

How do I generate a hardware report ?

Postby mazway on Tue Nov 11, 2008 9:44 pm

I want to get a hardware report to find the mother board model of my custom built desktop. The boot up info goes too fast to copy the numbers. Firefox bogs down CPU resources. So, I am thinking extra RAM will help with my 512 MB system. Thanks, Mike
mazway
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 5:13 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How do I generate a hardware report ?

Postby Husse on Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:20 am

Two ways
The one that generally is sufficient is lspci
or you can use sudo lshw but that becomes very detailed
Both in a terminal and you right click to copy
And yes you will benefit from more memory
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: How do I generate a hardware report ?

Postby pluraldave on Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:36 am

I would try this first. (Unless there is some reason not to use this command?)

Motherboard information
Code: Select all
sudo dmidecode --type 1


Or if it's the type of RAM you want you could use (although mine shows up as "unown" so it may not be any use)

Code: Select all
sudo dmidecode --type 17
User avatar
pluraldave
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 709
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 8:05 am

Re: How do I generate a hardware report ?

Postby 900i on Wed Nov 12, 2008 8:53 am

Or just press Pause/Break as it boots up to read the boot screens.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: How do I generate a hardware report ?

Postby mazway on Wed Nov 12, 2008 12:00 pm

Thanks for all the tips. I'll probably order a memory stick online. Mike
mazway
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 5:13 pm

Re: How do I generate a hardware report ?

Postby Husse on Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:38 am

Unfortunately dmidecode may not return anything whilst lspci and lshw always (?) returns useful info
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: SleepyWeasel and 51 guests