Getting Linix Mint to work on a MacBook

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Getting Linix Mint to work on a MacBook

Postby kragof on Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:37 am

Hello this is my first time using any sort of Ubuntu. I am trying Linux Mint first because a friend recommended it to me. I am putting it on my MacBook. Here are the steps i've taken so far and i need help getting the rest to work. Please bare with my technical terms, i have no idea what them mean. I made a partition using Disk Utilities. I downloaded Linix Mint and burned it to a blank disk. When i run run the disk, it logs onto a "live preview session"-i think thats what its called- anyways then i double clicked on the install icon and its started to run fine. My friend helped me make sure i was using the right partition and got the "swap area" for free space. Then i hit install and it gets to about 90% and then an error pops up. Error: Executing 'grub-install (hd0)' failed. This is a fatal error. Then it fails and quits the download. So how do i fix this problem? Any help would be really helpful and i appreciate the effort.

Please correct me if anything i've said is wrong. As i stated above, this is the first time i've used this and not sure of anything.

Thanks in advance.
kragof
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Getting Linix Mint to work on a MacBook

Postby miket on Mon Nov 17, 2008 5:03 pm

Hi,

Do you have OS X on this machine as well ?
If so, then there is a special procedure you need to perform to make the two co-exist.
If you search on Google or the Ubuntu forums you will find it quite easily.

Mike.