sudden problems printing to cups pdf, favorites[SOLVED]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

sudden problems printing to cups pdf, favorites[SOLVED]

Postby mwilliams on Mon Nov 17, 2008 9:24 pm

I have been using Elyssa for several months with no problem and all of a sudden today I have several problems. If this was Windows I would think I have a virus. Here are my problems:
1. My favorites have disappeared. If I now try to save to favorites in the mint menu, I get the following error message:
Couldn't save favorites. Check if you have write access to ~/.linuxmint/mintMenu
([Errno 28] No space left on device)
I have plenty of disk space.
2. I can no longer print to the cups pdf printer. I need this because I can't find a driver for my Canon mx850. I print to pdf, send it to a shared folder, and print from a Virtualbox XP installation. When I try to print, it makes a file of garbage that the viewer can't open. Evince gives me data error 2.
3. Tomboy notes won't load on boot.
I have rebooted many times but these problems persist. Can anyone help?
The only thing that happened today is the screen resolution went to 640 x 480 because the monitor cable was loose and I guess the system could not recognize the monitor. I manually set it to LCD at 1280 x 1024, and when I located the cable problem, secured it. Nothing else has changed as far as I know.
thanks in advance

mikew
Last edited by mwilliams on Sat Nov 22, 2008 11:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
mwilliams
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: sudden problems printing to cups pdf, favorites disappear...