Cant use my onboard Ethernet!

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Cant use my onboard Ethernet!

Postby Christof999 on Thu Nov 20, 2008 5:03 pm

Hi,

Just installed min 5 x64 on my system, and I am having a very strange bug with my ethernet. It is onboard ethernet with the Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 02) chipset. Now I cannot get it to navigate my network or the internet using regular cat 5 cable, it works no matter what. However strangely if I use cat 5e cable it instantly connects and works.

Now before someone suggets that I just use the cat 5e cable, let me say that

1. I want my computer working perfectly, not worked around. It should work like any of my other computers
2. I do not have, nor am willing to buy a 35 ft cat 5e cable.

I have ensured that my 35 ft cat 5 cable works, having tested it with another computer. I know its comething to do with the software, perhaps a driver issue.

Please help me and tell me how to fix this.

Thanks
Christof
Christof999
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 4:04 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Cant use my onboard Ethernet!

Postby rivenought on Thu Nov 20, 2008 5:21 pm

I was under the assumption that Gigabit Ethernet required Cat 5e or Cat 6 cable for optimum performance. On regular 10/100, one can get by with regular Cat 5 with no problem. Now I know why my friend gave me a whole box of Cat 5 cables when he switched to Gigabit Ethernet. :D
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: Cant use my onboard Ethernet!

Postby Christof999 on Thu Nov 20, 2008 6:03 pm

Hi,

never ever, had a problem using regular cat 5 cable with gigabit cards.
Christof999
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 4:04 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: all41, Barry87, JerseyBiker and 21 guests

cron