64 bit mint and RAM

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

64 bit mint and RAM

Postby ossified65 on Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:15 pm

Hi all, if I am running the 64 bit Mint edition and have 2.6.24.22-generic kernel running why does my system only recognize 3.8 G of my 4.0G of RAM? Is that normal? I thought 64it would recognize all 4G?

-Ossified65

PS Mint rocks!
ossified65
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 9:29 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: 64 bit mint and RAM

Postby locutus on Sat Dec 06, 2008 12:16 am

Just a wild guess, probably wrong, but could it be the counting variations we see in hard drives? ie: a 160 Gb drive is actually about 149Gb after formatting. I've never heard of this applying to RAM, but since it does see more than 3Gb it would seem to be working.
User avatar
locutus
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:54 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: 64 bit mint and RAM

Postby Caraibes on Sat Dec 06, 2008 6:08 am

-Do you have an onboard video card ? (if so, it uses some of your ram to function)
User avatar
Caraibes
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:08 pm
Location: Dominican Republic

Re: 64 bit mint and RAM

Postby Fred on Sun Dec 07, 2008 5:28 am

I will add to Caraibes post another possibility. For some strange reason, (poor BIOS design), sometimes the on-board fake RAID will be assigned its cache RAM even if it isn't being used.

If there is a BIOS firmware upgrade available from your mobo maker I would consider flashing it.

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: eiger3970, WharfRat and 14 guests