trying to get the internet on linux mint

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

trying to get the internet on linux mint

Postby nonaym13 on Sun Dec 07, 2008 6:00 am

i just finished installing linux mint for the first time, i plugged in my ethernet cable in the back, and it doesnt connect to the internet...... everything else i got connected that way works perfectly.... need help trying to figure out what to do..... help would be most appreciated
nonaym13
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 5:40 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: trying to get the internet on linux mint

Postby 67GTA on Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:57 am

We need more info. Broadband, dial-up, etc... Is your connection not shown? Do you have an external firewall? Hardware specs? Post the output of
Code: Select all
lspci -kvv
from a terminal if possible. This will tell us more a lot faster.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: trying to get the internet on linux mint

Postby akaNed on Sun Dec 07, 2008 5:00 pm

You may also want to try
Code: Select all
ifconfig
in a terminal and see if 'eth0' is being assigned an ip address.
Check out my other wallpapers Deviantart
Follow me at identica or that other one
User avatar
akaNed
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 10:27 pm
Location: Landrum, SC

Re: trying to get the internet on linux mint

Postby nonaym13 on Mon Dec 08, 2008 1:48 am

nonaym13
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 5:40 am

Re: trying to get the internet on linux mint

Postby Old Marcus on Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:12 am

You could have just copied the text from the command line you your post. :P

But it looks like no ethernet device is configured. Odd.
Linux Mint 8 RC1 = Nice
'apt install' can be used on Linux Mint as a shortcut for 'sudo apt-get install'. 'apt x' can be used for various other apt commands as well.
When a problem is solved, please add [SOLVED] to your thread title.
User avatar
Old Marcus
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 395
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Exeter, UK

Re: trying to get the internet on linux mint

Postby akaNed on Mon Dec 08, 2008 8:14 am

Try running
Code: Select all
lspci
in a terminal and copy the result into your post here.
Check out my other wallpapers Deviantart
Follow me at identica or that other one
User avatar
akaNed
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 10:27 pm
Location: Landrum, SC

Re: trying to get the internet on linux mint

Postby nonaym13 on Tue Dec 09, 2008 3:42 am

lspci
http://e.imagehost.org/view/0494/P1000319

and i cant copy it and put it on this computer cause the computer i got linux mint on is a old style computer im messing with, doesnt have alot of stuff, and has a floppy disk drive....... the computer im using to reply to these posts, doesnt have a floppy disk drive, cause those are out of date now..... and without the internet on the other computer i have no way to send you screen shots threw that computer..... thats why im using my camera to take pics
nonaym13
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 5:40 am

Re: trying to get the internet on linux mint

Postby 67GTA on Tue Dec 09, 2008 5:02 am

"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: trying to get the internet on linux mint

Postby akaNed on Tue Dec 09, 2008 8:45 pm

Does the ethernet card work under windows? If yes, then the proper module or driver may not be present. If not, then you might want to try a new ethernet card.
In a terminal type:
Code: Select all
lspci -kvv

This will give you a more detailed output for your ethernet controller similar to this:
Code: Select all
09:02.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
   Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff31
   Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
   Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B+ ParErr- DEVSEL=medium >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
   Latency: 64 (8000ns min, 16000ns max)
   Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 21
   Region 0: I/O ports at a000 [size=256]
   Region 1: Memory at c0210000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256]
   Capabilities: <access denied>
   Kernel driver in use: 8139too
   Kernel modules: 8139too, 8139cp

You can then check to see if the modules are loaded with this:
Code: Select all
lsmod | grep your_module_name

Replace 'your_module_name' with the name, or first few characters of the kernael modules that show up under the 'lspci -kvv' command.
If the modules don't show up, then try this:
Code: Select all
sudo modprobe name_of_module
sudo ifconfig eth0 up

Then try
Code: Select all
ifconfig

If your ethernet still doesn't show, take a look at this post.
You could also try:
Code: Select all
dmesg | tail

This may how some errors about your card.
Hope this helps.
Check out my other wallpapers Deviantart
Follow me at identica or that other one
User avatar
akaNed
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 10:27 pm
Location: Landrum, SC

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Janus12th, jb2012, jimallyn, killer de bug, mbohets, Mute Ant, niowluka, space_jeff, trendle and 42 guests