Mint 17.1 KDE Screen Freezes

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
kryptonite803

Mint 17.1 KDE Screen Freezes

Post by kryptonite803 »

I have been using linux mint for probably 3 or 4 months now and ever since I installed it, I have had severe issues with the screen arbitrarily freezing. The whole system doesn't seem to freeze as audio, video, and games continue to play, just the screen gets stuck and won't update. The only way to resolve the issue is to close the laptop lid, wait for it to sleep, then bring it out of sleep, and the screen resumes functioning.

I started with Cinnamon, but some research seemed to indicate that Cinnamon was a bit plagued with video issues, so I tried several desktop environments (XFCE, Unity, KDE). XKCE seemed to freeze more often with no support for putting the machine to sleep with the lid, and Unity would crash before even loading. So far, KDE has subjectively seemed to cause the problem least often. If nothing else, it has built in options for sleeping when the lid closes instead of being forced to do a hard reset on the machine.

Other research has suggested kernel or driver issues with Nvidia (system specs below). I believe I successfully installed Nvidia proprietary drivers and disabled Nouveau, though at this time I am having trouble confirming that beyond looking at dialogue boxes from Xserver Settings.

Looking through /var/log/syslog I see my wireless card acting up a lot. It seems to drop signal or something with messages like:

Code: Select all