Booting Linux and Vista from separate hd's

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Booting Linux and Vista from separate hd's

Postby confused on Sun Dec 21, 2008 6:53 pm

Hi All,

I have recently installed Felicia and Vista on separate hard drives but can't get GRUB to dual boot. Grub lists Felicia and Vista but will only boot into Felicia. The problem appears to be within Vista as Grub attempts the boot but an incompatibility error is returned . Has anyone tried dual booting these programmes from separate hard drives?


regards
confused
confused
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 2:42 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Booting Linux and Vista from separate hd's

Postby kansasnoob on Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:27 pm

confused wrote:Hi All,

I have recently installed Felicia and Vista on separate hard drives but can't get GRUB to dual boot. Grub lists Felicia and Vista but will only boot into Felicia. The problem appears to be within Vista as Grub attempts the boot but an incompatibility error is returned . Has anyone tried dual booting these programmes from separate hard drives?


regards
confused


Exactly what error(s) are displayed when you try to boot Vista. If it's a Grub error it will usually display a number.

We'll probably also need to see the output from Terminal of:

Code: Select all
sudo fdisk -l


That's a lower case L.

Also the output of:

Code: Select all
cat /boot/grub/menu.lst


Once again that's a lower case L, like Menu List.

Hopefully we'll just need to edit the menu list to chainload Windows. This procedure is discussed here:

http://users.bigpond.net.au/hermanzone/ ... p_commands

It can be tricky.

It could also be a Vista problem. Let's hope not!
kansasnoob
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 1:45 pm

Re: Booting Linux and Vista from separate hd's

Postby curt_grymala on Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:45 pm

If the systems are installed on separate hard drives, have you tried using your bios to choose which drive to boot? When I initially dual-booted on my computer, I didn't use Grub to boot, I simply selected the appropriate drive from my bios.
curt_grymala
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 10:16 pm

Re: Booting Linux and Vista from separate hd's

Postby Alastar on Tue Dec 23, 2008 10:53 am

curt_grymala wrote:If the systems are installed on separate hard drives, have you tried using your bios to choose which drive to boot? When I initially dual-booted on my computer, I didn't use Grub to boot, I simply selected the appropriate drive from my bios.


This is actually the only option that will solve you're problem.
Grub can only be used on a hard disk with 2 operating systems on it.

You have to manualy change the first boot device in your BIOS
Alastar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:15 am

Re: Booting Linux and Vista from separate hd's

Postby Fred on Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:46 pm

Alastar wrote:
Grub can only be used on a hard disk with 2 operating systems on it.

This patently untrue! There is no limit to the number of operating systems grub can boot.

I haven't followed this thread but as a general rule of thumb, it is a bad idea to swap hard drives around in BIOS to boot them. Grub is quite capable of managing this in a saner way than the BIOS select.

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: Booting Linux and Vista from separate hd's

Postby Alastar on Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:33 pm

Fred wrote:Alastar wrote:
Grub can only be used on a hard disk with 2 operating systems on it.

This patently untrue! There is no limit to the number of operating systems grub can boot.

I haven't followed this thread but as a general rule of thumb, it is a bad idea to swap hard drives around in BIOS to boot them. Grub is quite capable of managing this in a saner way than the BIOS select.

Fred


I'm sorry, I did'nt ment to put emphasis on the 2, I ment it could only run different OSes on 1 hard disk at a time
I googled it up and everyone who is having this problem eventually ends up changing his BIOS settings
Alastar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:15 am

Re: Booting Linux and Vista from separate hd's

Postby Fred on Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:46 pm

Alastar,

Not trying to be difficult, really. Actually, grub doesn't have the limitations you ascribe to it. Generally it is the installers of various distros that fail to recognize multiple partitions on multiple drives. This is a problem I am especially familiar with in the Ubuntu installer.

The Ubuntu installer is one of the poorest of the bunch, which Mint uses. When you have a system with several drives and multiple partitions on each I suggest you download the latest stable version of the Gparted live cd iso, (link below). If you use this to make your partitions and then when making the install use the manual mode and assign the pre-made partitions in the installer you stand a much better chance of winding up with a successful install that picks up everything. :-)

http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... _id=271779

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: Booting Linux and Vista from separate hd's

Postby Alastar on Tue Dec 23, 2008 8:09 pm

thanks Fred, didn't knew that :D
Alastar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:15 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 45 guests