Anyone knows how to fix this bug?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Anyone knows how to fix this bug?

Postby Linux n00b on Wed Dec 31, 2008 11:42 am

I was just hit by this bug:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/189288

The exact problem happen to me (cannot open computer and trash, exact same error message), and I didn't update my mint5. Tried reinstall gvfs and nautilus, not working.

While I was searching for possible fix, I realised I can still use konqueror. It's just I don't like the way konqueror works. The most annoying is one click auto play by default (eg, click on a video file, it will auto play it), I cannot find any option to turn it off. Any idea?
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits.
-- Albert Einstein
User avatar
Linux n00b
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:55 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Anyone knows how to fix this bug?

Postby Lantesh on Thu Jan 01, 2009 1:41 pm

That bug report page says it was for an old Alpha 4 version of Ubuntu 8.04. I would think the issue would have been solved by the final release. With this still being an issue for you why not use it as your excuse to do a clean install of Mint 6. Since Mint 5 is giving you issues you might as well.
Lantesh
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:02 pm

Re: Anyone knows how to fix this bug?

Postby exploder on Thu Jan 01, 2009 2:07 pm

Updates will fix the problem, gvfs was new in 8.04 and the updates to make it right came out after the release.
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5917
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: Anyone knows how to fix this bug?

Postby Linux n00b on Fri Jan 02, 2009 5:45 am

Did both updates, nothing helps.

There are couple of small issues to install mint6:

1. I don't like the idea of new mint update. Refresh would take ages, and all those download are too big/ would take too much space just for browsing update.
2. I have already had may new packages installed for functions I need. I'd hate to do them again (a few compiling job too). It will take me some time to get new system the way I like it. Right now, I'm bit lazy to mess around with computer (should do a lot of other things as well, eg. practice guitar).
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits.
-- Albert Einstein
User avatar
Linux n00b
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:55 am

Re: Anyone knows how to fix this bug?

Postby Linux n00b on Sun Jan 04, 2009 2:27 am

Looks like I have no choice but do a fresh install. Tried the upgrade to Mint6, resulted not able to boot into x window (text interfact only). :evil:
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits.
-- Albert Einstein
User avatar
Linux n00b
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:55 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Elifia, Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Google Feedfetcher and 21 guests