Adding commands to Right Click menu?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Adding commands to Right Click menu?

Postby MJOlsen on Fri Jan 02, 2009 6:26 pm

Hi,

Not sure if this is possible, but I'm wondering if there's a way to add certain commands to the Right Click menu. Specifically, I'm wondering about the "Shred" command, so that a user does not have to type the Shred command from the terminal.

I know there's nothing wrong with using the terminal for these things, but to fully convince Windows users to come aboard the Linux community, we'd do well to have equal alternatives to Windows functions. In Windows, when something like Eraser is installed, it automatically adds itself to the Right Click menu. Can we do the same with a Linux equivalent?

MJO
MJOlsen
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:09 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Adding commands to Right Click menu?

Postby mercier on Fri Jan 02, 2009 6:44 pm

mercier
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:37 pm

Re: Adding commands to Right Click menu?

Postby exploder on Fri Jan 02, 2009 6:52 pm

mercier , that is some very complete information! Nice find!
exploder
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5913
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA

Re: Adding commands to Right Click menu?

Postby 900i on Sat Jan 03, 2009 7:29 am

Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: Adding commands to Right Click menu?

Postby MJOlsen on Sat Jan 03, 2009 10:30 am

Thanks for all the helpful replies.

For some reason, I can get the command "Shred" into the Right Click Menu, but when I activate it, nothing happens.

Here are the Nautilus Configuration settings:

Image

Have I configured something wrong?

MJO
MJOlsen
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:09 am

Re: Adding commands to Right Click menu?

Postby 900i on Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:22 pm

the PATH is shred, not Shred. Linux is case sensitive, unlike Windows.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], kyrillosnagy and 29 guests