Increasing monrefresh rate from 50hz to its 75hz capacity

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Increasing monrefresh rate from 50hz to its 75hz capacity

Postby mkb on Fri Jan 09, 2009 5:01 pm

I'm still in culture shock having abandoned Suse for ideological reasons >;) I have a neuropathic degenerative condition and my eyes aren't what they were and I just noticed that on screen resolution the monitor (an Iiyama Prolite E1900S) is running at 50hz refresh, which looks like its just been marked as a generic one. NO Wonder it is visually bouncing all over the place and giving me severe reading problems. How do I get the monitor to be recognised as a E19000S or a similar monitor that can refresh at something like 72 or 75hz so I don't get this flicker? Nothing in the idiot guide pretty pictures menus so far spotted helped me to find a configure monitor option - where is it... or is there one? Sometimes I really do long for Yast under Suse it was so good at handholding newbies. This is a serious problem despite my jokiness, I can only read for about 3-5 minutes at a time before my eye muscles collapse, not funny for a disabled person falling to bits by painful err bits <:-(
mkb
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 5:58 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Increasing monrefresh rate from 50hz to its 75hz capacity

Postby Husse on Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:31 pm

I really understand you, I have three sons that are severely visually impaired
You did not tell us which graphics card you have
If you have a nvidia (which I almost suspect due to the rate) you can fix it as follows
Edit xorg.conf
Code: Select all
gksu gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf

In Section "Device" add this
Code: Select all
Option      "DynamicTwinView"   "False"

like in this post
viewtopic.php?f=55&t=14779&p=92335&hilit=twin+view#p92335
You should now be able to use 60 or 75 Hz for a LCD monitor if you have nvidia
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Increasing monrefresh rate from 50hz to its 75hz capacity

Postby Paul_Vandenberg on Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:05 pm

Try 'Screen Resolution' under 'Preferences'.
User avatar
Paul_Vandenberg
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 9:11 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Increasing monrefresh rate from 50hz to its 75hz capacity

Postby Husse on Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:00 pm

Paul_Vandenberg wrote:Try 'Screen Resolution' under 'Preferences'.

:mrgreen:
You are absolutely right, and that's perhaps all there is to it - when I answer I presume that the simple things have been tried already :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Increasing monrefresh rate from 50hz to its 75hz capacity

Postby mkb on Sun Jan 11, 2009 4:20 pm

Paul_Vandenberg wrote:Try 'Screen Resolution' under 'Preferences'.


I should have said that I had tried that one (button on menu) and the monitor was only marked as a generic vesa and the only refresh allowed to me was 50hz at 1280x1024. Sorry, incomplete information. Also the video card is a PCI-E FX5200 with 512mb of ram, some variant that was designed for CAD work I got from my nephew when he upgraded to one of the latest 9000 series nvidias for his gaming obsession! So apparently despite being "only" an FX5200 it is a bit special and he reckoned it would be better than the Intel 9 wotsit that is built onboard with this Shuttle XPC box (and I must admit that the image is produces on the screen is definitely a bit sharper, but I'm not doing anything that would show up any speed differences to human perception, the main bottleneck is as always the slow rate of refresh of the web pages down the line (so much for 8mbit, I've not bothered to upgrade from 2m 'cos on balance none of the pages refresh at anything much more than about 500m given contentions etc so that is the "real internet speed" in this rural small town. But we digress from my horribly flickering screen!)
mkb
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 5:58 pm

Re: Increasing monrefresh rate from 50hz to its 75hz capacity

Postby mkb on Sun Jan 11, 2009 4:50 pm

Husse wrote:I really understand you, I have three sons that are severely visually impaired
Really sorry to hear that (as a father myself) much heartfelt "but for the grace of God" good wishes winging their way to you (hopefully)
Yes, that trick did the trick, gave me a 60 or 75 option, and it seems to be running much more stabley (is that a word... stabely??) than before at 50 now that it is up at 75hz.

I think that the fluorescent light flickering and the monitor also at 50hz and not quite in phase were making it all rather unpleasant, like the old slow crt monitors of the early 90s.

Despite their environmental credentials (and we've gone through the house and done pretty well the lot with cfl's) I still don't really like fluorescent lighting :-(
" "False"[/code]
like in this post
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopi ... iew#p92335
You should now be able to use 60 or 75 Hz for a LCD monitor if you have nvidia
mkb
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 5:58 pm

Re: Increasing monrefresh rate from 50hz to its 75hz capacity

Postby Husse on Sun Jan 11, 2009 4:56 pm

Did you try my suggestion? It works beautifully on "normal" nvidia cards, but I don't know for special CAD cards
After you've done that (and restarted X - ctrl+alt+backspace) you get more options
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19714
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: baldrick.777, Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 36 guests