Repository on DVD

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Repository on DVD

Postby GiggleGut on Thu Feb 05, 2009 2:05 am

Due to my location and internet service (satellite = expensive & limited bandwidth and monthly threshold) I purchased a 6 disk dvd set that has Ubuntu 8.10 Repository. From what I understand that this should work under Mint also. I loaded all the dvd discs into Synaptic and I can access programs through the Repository that I purchased. But my only problem is that I didn't expect to load the disks again. Every time I use Synaptic to install any program it asks for the appropriate disc or DISCS!! And whats worse they're usually not in order when its asks for the disks. I hope you can understand how annoying that is.

My main goal was to have the repository available without loading the disks again and again. So, I tried and experiment to see if it would work.....I created ISO's for all the discs and mounted them with archive mounter under gnome. My idea was to load all the different ISO's into virtual drives and have Synaptic load them from that so I don't have to keep inserting all the disks manually. But it did not work. Does anyone know if this is possible?

So then I tried using AptonCD using the ISO's I've created. But I guess AptonCD does not recognize ISO's that created by AptonCD. I'm not really sure if AptonCD will help my cause or not. Does anyone know of a better way? Or at least guide me into the right direction. As you can see I'm new on linux. I'm still trying to learn. Thanks.
GiggleGut
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 2:37 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Repository on DVD

Postby garda on Thu Feb 05, 2009 7:03 am

I'm not sure if this will actually help, but since it certainly won't harm you nevertheless, you may want to try this:

Variable in this example:
Location and name of ISO file : /media/Backup/apt/aptoncd.iso

1. Mount your ISO using the command line:
Code: Select all
cd /media/Backup/apt/

Code: Select all
sudo mount -o loop -t iso9660 'aptoncd.iso' '/media/cdrom0'

2. Add the mounted ISO to your cdrom.list:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-cdrom -m -d=/media/cdrom0 add

3. Add the ISO and its mount point to fstab:
Code: Select all
gksu gedit /etc/fstab

4. Add the following line near the bottom:
Code: Select all
/media/Backup/apt/aptoncd.iso /media/cdrom0 iso9660 ro,loop,auto 0 0

5. Refresh apt package information:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update

You will have to do this for each of your ISO's. Simply make new cdrom[1/2/3/etc] directories under /media/ for each of them so that you could have them mounted at the same time, thus negating the need to swap out discs.

To unmount the ISO, execute this command:
Code: Select all
sudo umount /media/cdrom[0/1/2/3/etc]

The easiest way to achieve your cause would be to copy all the packages from all six DVD's to /var/cache/apt/archives/ directory and refresh apt package information (step 6 above).

Hope that helps.
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Re: Repository on DVD

Postby GiggleGut on Mon Feb 09, 2009 2:53 am

I had a bit of a hard time. I think it was just me loosing my patience :oops: ....but not giving up.

The easiest way to achieve your cause would be to copy all the packages from all six DVD's to /var/cache/apt/archives/ directory and refresh apt package information (step 6 above).


I'm also all about easy. I went ahead and copied all the dvd's into a folder. Which files or folders do I need to copy to that directory? Or do I just dump the whole folder content in there.

repo directory.png
This is inside the main folder where I copied the dvd's into.
repo directory.png (26.1 KiB) Viewed 327 times


The main folder where the dvd's were put into is over 20 gigs. But to try and find the packages I couldn't find a folder over 1 gig.

Thanks.
GiggleGut
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 2:37 am

Re: Repository on DVD

Postby garda on Mon Feb 09, 2009 2:40 pm

I made a mistake when I said that the packages could simply be copied to one directory -- sorry for that. This is how the process is supposed to be like:

1. Copy each discs to a directory on your hard disk. I assume you would copy Disc #1 to /media/Data/Disc1, Disc #2 to /media/Data/Disc2, and so forth.
2. Backup your original sources.list:
Code: Select all
sudo cp /etc/apt/sources.list /etc/apt/sources.list.old

3. Next thing you would have to do is modify your sources.list:

Code: Select all
gksu gedit /etc/apt/sources.list

4. Comment out (put '#' in front of) every entry that that has ubuntu in the URL, except the last two. Here is an example:
## -------------------
## UBUNTU REPOSITORIES
## -------------------

## +++ Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid (stable) +++
# deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid main restricted universe multiverse
# deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-updates main restricted universe multiverse
# deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-security main restricted universe multiverse


## +++ Backports & Proposed (not as stable) +++
# deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-backports main restricted universe multiverse
# deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-proposed main restricted universe multiverse


## +++ Source Repositories +++
# deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid main restricted universe multiverse
# deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-updates main restricted universe multiverse
# deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-security main restricted universe multiverse
# deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-backports main restricted universe multiverse
# deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-proposed main restricted universe multiverse


## ------------------
## OTHER REPOSITORIES
## ------------------

## +++ Canonical (stable) +++
deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ intrepid partner

## +++ Medibuntu (stable) +++
deb http://packages.medibuntu.org/ intrepid free non-free

5. Enter this command in terminal to get the repository name held in each directory that you created at step #1:
Code: Select all
ls /media/Data/Disc1/dists/intrepid

You will get something like this:
Code: Select all
main restricted

6. Then add the directory to your sources.list like this:
deb file:///media/Data/Disc1/ intrepid main restricted

7. Repeat steps 5-6 for each directory you have.
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: auaa, joemartin, mr.suchy and 43 guests