Scanner utility - Solved

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Scanner utility - Solved

Postby jungle on Thu Feb 05, 2009 9:45 am

Hi there

I am brand new to Linux. Had only used Windows previously. A point, drag and click person I guess. Late last year decided to explore Linux. My son suggested Linux Ubuntu or Mint. Decided to go with Linux Mint Elyssa but was very cautious and purchased a second hard drive and put it in. Learned about system and data backups and partitioning and loaded Elyssa on the new hard drive to give me a dual boot system (just before Felicia came out). Very impressed with the set-up and the functionality and now find I never load XP! Have since moved on to Felicia and it is just great. Next version of Mint I am going to go with the 64 bit version.

I do have one query. I have a Brother DCP - 115C scanner copier which Felicia links to just fine for printing. However, when I click on the scanner utility it does not find or see the scanner. Advice on how to to use the onscreen utility in Felicia to initiate scans if this is possible with this particular hardware would be much appreciated.

regards

Jungle
Last edited by jungle on Thu May 28, 2009 9:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
jungle
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 9:21 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Scanner utility

Postby Udi on Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:26 am

I don't have your scanner so I don't know the answer. However, I searched for the problem and I think you may find this link helpful:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... +bug/72321

So it appears that Brother support scanning on Linux - and maybe you can actually contact their tech support if the instructions you find on the web don't work for you? Lucky you!
Udi
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 3:33 am

Re: Scanner utility

Postby Ozz on Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:38 am

Hi,

I think you should try to install a utility called Xsane. It is a great utility that will detect your scanner automatically, and then you are set to go and scan all you like.

It is quite straightforward to use. There is another well known utility which another user might suggest as I cannot remember it at the moment.

You can access this software from the software portal. easy install!

Have fun

Keep me posted if this does not work
Ozz
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 8:48 pm
Location: Newhaven, East Sussex, UK

Re: Scanner utility

Postby jungle on Thu Feb 05, 2009 7:21 pm

Thanks for this Udi and Ozz. I will have a go these fixes this evening after work.
jungle
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 9:21 am

Re: Scanner utility

Postby rlindsey0 on Thu Feb 05, 2009 9:25 pm

Xsane works perfectly for me (HP C5280).
Olivia 15 Cinnamon 64, dual-boot Win 7 Pro 64 SP1, Clevo W150ER 15.6" laptop, i7 3630M, 16 GB RAM, Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256 GB/HGST 1 TB 7200 RPM, Nvidia GT 650M 1 GB, USB 3.0 HGST 1 TB 7200 RPM, HP Photosmart C5280
rlindsey0
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 9:12 am

Re: Scanner utility

Postby jungle on Tue May 05, 2009 11:38 am

Belated thankyou to everyone for your help with this. I eventually managed to get my Brother scanner functioning fine with some help from the Brother people in Japan who were very helpful. I did have to learn how to use the terminal so that I could communicate with them and get responses which enable me o see what needed to be done to get it sorted. I did have to change the udev rules as someone indicated.
jungle
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 9:21 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Mark Phelps, Mute Ant and 33 guests