connecting to internet???

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

connecting to internet???

Postby sakora on Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:30 pm

im using realtek ethernet card, and I can't connect t the internet, i need some help
sakora
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:27 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: connecting to internet???

Postby Udi on Thu Feb 19, 2009 8:13 am

You don't really volunteer a lot of information, do you?

We'll need to know if you have a permanent connection, if you connect using a modem, what kind of connection you have (ADSL?) etc... Be very specific on what hardware you have (even specify the model of every device) and also specify what you attempted by yourself to resolve the problem and where you are stuck.
Udi
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 3:33 am

Re: connecting to internet???

Postby Husse on Thu Feb 19, 2009 8:15 am

You have to tell us more facts.
The minimum is exactly which Mint you have - which version and which edition (main or any of the CEs)
We also need to know a bit about all your hardware.
Run " lspci " in a terminal and post here (To copy from a terminal right click)
Some wifi and possibly built in sound can be connected to USB even if they are internal - if you suspect you have one of these run " lsusb " in a terminal.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: connecting to internet???

Postby sakora on Thu Feb 19, 2009 11:29 am

I'm using a modem, I'll need to get home before I can find the model no. but I believe it's a westell. I don't have any wifi, and it is a perma connect. I don't know which version it is I will need to get it from the CD vendor. when I can't connect I run the update apps but they don't work...
sakora
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:27 pm

Re: connecting to internet???

Postby sakora on Thu Feb 19, 2009 5:57 pm

you all call this a support forum? confused, I think your missing the key to a support forum: support. I have waited for an answer, not only did your software not work but now when I reinstall windows it cant get to the net when before I installed mint I could.

Thank you Linux Mint for not only, not working but also being extremely inconsiderate, and screwing my machine up. Thank you for all this hardship and money to spend getting it fixed and a pro install of the much better paid versions of linux.

Sakora
sakora
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:27 pm

Re: connecting to internet???

Postby Husse on Fri Feb 20, 2009 8:27 am

@ Sakora
Your original post was posted at noon yesterday February 19 and about 12 hours later you post this response
You don't understand at all that this is a forum - it takes time in a forum (unfortunately)
And note the first two responses to your original post - you provided absolutely no useful information
It's like asking the guy that services your car - I can't drive - what's wrong?
Probably the one behind the wheel
Your post is an insult to this forum
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: connecting to internet???

Postby mbrocknroll on Sun Mar 01, 2009 11:33 pm

try this
call yr internet service provider
they will give you software solution how to bridge yr modem to work on realtek's IP which is 192.168.1.1 (it is called bridged ethernet)
after that it should work
that is what helped me and I had same problem
mbrocknroll
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:47 pm

Re: connecting to internet???

Postby Decemberdoom on Mon Mar 02, 2009 8:51 am

You do realize there is no way you can get commercial support for Linux for free? With the information you provided, it is just about impossible to offer any solutions to you, without listing a giant plethora of possible ones.
[url]decemberdoom.wordpress.com[/url] Check out my blog.

You know you want to.
Decemberdoom
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:40 pm

Re: connecting to internet???

Postby Husse on Tue Mar 03, 2009 10:44 am

@ Decemberdoom
I don't think that guy is interested in Mint any more 8) - and yes there is paid support for Mint :)
And please fix your signature - my eyes hurt when they see [url] :wink:
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], I2k4, raptir, xana40 and 36 guests