Acer Aspire One

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Acer Aspire One

Postby sbcwinn on Wed Feb 25, 2009 11:46 am

I am a Linux newbie, and after fooling around with a lot of distros that only made me frustrated, I found Linux Mint and now took Windows off of my computer.

So naturally I would like to use Mint on my Acer Aspire One netbook, but I would like all of the devices on the machine to work. Does anyone know how to do this, or if it has been tried?
sbcwinn
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby Husse on Thu Feb 26, 2009 12:53 pm

I have seen several reports that it works - sometimes with some quirks :)
This is one
viewtopic.php?f=47&t=21430
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21

Re: Acer Aspire One

Postby peteros on Tue Mar 03, 2009 2:08 pm

I'm also a Linux newbie, but have been learning fast - and now have both Linux Mint 6 and Ubuntu 8.10 on my Acer Aspire One (version with 120GB HD) as a dual boot. Both systems working well... and what I found in the process may help others...