Install Fonts

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Install Fonts

Postby supernova42 on Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:48 pm

How do you install fonts?
-SuperNova
Using Worst Comp Ever - 512MB Ram, 80GB 5200RPM HD, and 2.8GHz Intel Single Core but thanks to Mint its kinda fast.
User avatar
supernova42
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 10:10 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Install Fonts

Postby merlwiz79 on Sat Feb 28, 2009 10:36 am

Copy then to ~/.fonts
When creating the folder make sure to include the period.
Then run this in terminal fc-cache ~/.fonts
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Install Fonts

Postby supernova42 on Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:26 am

Does it matter where I put the folder?
-SuperNova
Using Worst Comp Ever - 512MB Ram, 80GB 5200RPM HD, and 2.8GHz Intel Single Core but thanks to Mint its kinda fast.
User avatar
supernova42
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 10:10 am

Re: Install Fonts

Postby elija on Sat Feb 28, 2009 3:28 pm

supernova42 wrote:Does it matter where I put the folder?
-SuperNova


In your home folder (that's what the ~/ means) the folder name .fonts which will be hidden (that's what the . does)

If you want to install for everybody then /usr/share/fonts is probably the place to put them
less is more, but more more than more is, so more is less less, so use more less if you want less more, more or less.

Read my blog at the Fifth Continent
Over 50? Visit the Saga Zone
Registered Linux User: #459086
elija
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:30 am

Re: Install Fonts

Postby supernova42 on Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:21 pm

Thanks worked perfectly!
-SuperNova
Using Worst Comp Ever - 512MB Ram, 80GB 5200RPM HD, and 2.8GHz Intel Single Core but thanks to Mint its kinda fast.
User avatar
supernova42
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 10:10 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ArcticEagle, Bing [Bot], drlao, hinto, orchestre, WharfRat and 27 guests