Thumbnail Caching (Disable / Clear Cache on Logout)

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Thumbnail Caching (Disable / Clear Cache on Logout)

Postby KyleFx on Sat Feb 28, 2009 10:18 pm

Hi Everyone,

I'm fairly new to linux, and I've been trying to figure this out, with little success. I see that thumbnail images are cached in the home directory .thumbnails folder. I would like to either be able to disable caching of thumbnails altogether, or simply be able to run a script on logout, that clears the the thumbnail cache. Is something like this possible? Can a script be set to run at logout somehow?

I've gotten as far as making a shell script to remove all thumbnail images. But I don't know how to make it run when I logout. ;) Any input is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
-Kyle
KyleFx
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Thumbnail Caching (Disable / Clear Cache on Logout)

Postby proxima_centauri on Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:02 pm

Something like this
http://ubuntu.wordpress.com/2006/02/15/ ... humbnails/
or
http://arcticlinux.blogspot.com/2007/10 ... nails.html

Also try going into Nautilus->Edit->Preferences, and changing the thumbnail option under the Preview tab
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11

Postby Fred on Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:14 am

KyleFx,

Does it matter to you whether it runs on boot or shutdown? If not you can call the script from /etc/rc.local on boot.

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.