rsyncing over Samba... Just can't figure it out...

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

rsyncing over Samba... Just can't figure it out...

Postby theonlyrealperson on Mon Apr 23, 2007 4:14 am

I feel ridiculous I can't figure this out...

I have Bianca running on a desktop pc. I run Samba on it and share part of its harddrive because I'm sharing between a WinXP laptop and another laptop dual-booting Bianca and PC-BSD. (So three computers in total, a desktop and two laptops.)

I can "Connect to Server" and access the Desktop from my Bianca/PC-BSD laptop easily enough, and puts a mount point on my desktop... That always works and is easy enough. But I can't figure out how to reference this in rysnc...

The "Network" folder in my "Home" folder on my laptop only works about a 1/3rd of the time - making rsyncing very tough using that.

I can't seem to mount it manually. I've tried:
sudo mount -t smbfs //192.168.1.106/FolderName /mnt/DesktopName/ AND
sudo mount -t smbfs //DesktopName/FolderName /mnt/DesktopName/
Both give me ERRDOS "access denied" error messages.

Argh, is there any other way??? What am I missing?!?!?!?

Thanks!!!!
User avatar
theonlyrealperson
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:58 am
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby PapiSolo on Mon Apr 23, 2007 4:43 am

Let me see if I understand...

You have one desktop with linux mint acting as a Samba server and two laptops that connect to your samba share. What exactly do you want to rsync? The samba share to a backup drive? Or do you want to mount the share on the laptops?

Say you wanted to rsync from the Bianca laptop, you could issue the command:

rsync -avzi servername:samba_Share/ destination_Folder/ (the switches used are just an example. I use these for backups and it works great.)

To rsync from the server to the Bianca laptop, you would do as follows:

rsync -avzi samba_Share/ laptop_name:destination_Folder/

Hope this helps a little.
User avatar
PapiSolo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:39 am

Postby theonlyrealperson on Mon Apr 23, 2007 1:13 pm

You got it right... But that doesn't work in Grysnc....

I want to go from the laptop to the Desktop. I've checked and re-checked teh Samba share name, and the folder names. No dice.

I was talking about mounting the Samba share because I thought it was another way - but I can't do that either.

And all the while I can access the Samba share through the "Connect to Server".
User avatar
theonlyrealperson
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:58 am
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota

Postby theonlyrealperson on Tue Apr 24, 2007 3:00 am

Grrr... Home's "Network" folder won't hold the connection long enough for a full rsync run...

Anyone?!!?!? Please?!?!?
User avatar
theonlyrealperson
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:58 am
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota

Postby PapiSolo on Tue Apr 24, 2007 5:02 am

theonlyrealperson wrote:You got it right... But that doesn't work in Grysnc....


Have you tried doing via the command line. It's not that dificult to do. What errors show up? Any more info would be great so that I could try and help out.

Can you ssh into the desktop?

When doing rsync desktop_name:Samba_share/ destination_folder/ you are using ssh protocol so you need to have that installed on the desktop and running.

try issuing the following command in terminal window:
ssh root@desktop_ip

What happens?
User avatar
PapiSolo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:39 am

Postby NiksaVel on Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:45 am

maybe you need to mess around a bit with hosts_allow file?


Here is the stuff that really helped me out to set up my home networking:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SettingUpNFSHowTo
Windows is extremely fast after a fresh install. If you want to make it stay that way: - don't use it.
-Clem
User avatar
NiksaVel
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:06 am
Location: Croatia

Postby theonlyrealperson on Sat Apr 28, 2007 1:37 am

Sorry for the long wait between posts:

Well, the command line does it again. It's so weird, since all grsync does is punch in a command name... But, the command line seems to work like a charm...

Now, all I have to do is figure out how to exclude the "Network" directory; and set up a cron.

Thanks guys!!!! I'm off to the manual pages!
User avatar
theonlyrealperson
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:58 am
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 41 guests