Game using ALSA [Solved]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Game using ALSA [Solved]

Postby Kaye on Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:56 pm

Hey everyone,

I recently installed Secret Maryo Chronicles, and I really like it, but for some reason the music package isn't working. I installed it normally using apt (although I do have a symlink to my data partition), and unzipped the music into the correct directory, but for some reason the game is trying to use ALSA even though I use OSS4. This is strange because I installed it earlier and it worked perfectly. Is there any way for me to configure the sound options or something like that? Since it worked previously, I assumed it was from my end and not the game.

Thanks,
Kaye
Last edited by Kaye on Mon Mar 16, 2009 6:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"In somnis veritas"
Antivirus or defragging?
Image
User avatar
Kaye
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:05 pm
Location: Boston College

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Game using ALSA

Postby Kaye on Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:46 pm

I just installed another game and the same thing is happening.. so it's definitely something in the installation/configuration.
"In somnis veritas"
Antivirus or defragging?
Image
User avatar
Kaye
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:05 pm
Location: Boston College

Re: Game using ALSA

Postby garda on Sun Mar 15, 2009 1:55 am

Kaye, if only I played games I would have tried to help you. Alas, I do not.

So since you have been getting no replies here, I would suggest asking the question at OSS forums. Here is the link:

OpenSound Forums - Linux Section

Just remember to include these informations in your post, in addition to your problem:

- Distro and version (I recommend saying Ubuntu 8.10, if you are using Felicia)
- Output of ossmix
- Output of ossinfo -v3
- Output of sudo lspci -nnvv
- Output of uname -a

Wish you the best of luck.
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Re: Game using ALSA

Postby Kaye on Mon Mar 16, 2009 5:09 pm

I was thinking of doing that, it just seems to me that this is a problem with configuration on my end, because OSS worked perfectly with this game before I set up the symlink. I fail to see how that would affect anything, though, which is where I'm stuck right now. I guess I'll start a thread up over there just to see if anyone else has experienced this before.

Thanks, Kaye
"In somnis veritas"
Antivirus or defragging?
Image
User avatar
Kaye
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:05 pm
Location: Boston College

Re: Game using ALSA

Postby Kaye on Mon Mar 16, 2009 6:47 pm

Solved.. Pretty simple, all I had to do was install the libsdl1.2debian-oss package, which apparently some programs use for OSS compatibility. Thanks for your help.
"In somnis veritas"
Antivirus or defragging?
Image
User avatar
Kaye
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:05 pm
Location: Boston College


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cweeks127, joemartin, kyphi, losttailnz and 30 guests