Linux Mint 6 x64

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Linux Mint 6 x64

Postby sillynux on Thu Mar 19, 2009 3:43 am

fisrt post..
hi all, please help me i'm on hesitate to install mint 6 x64 edition.
what's the problem i will find on x64? be cause i'm a newbie on linux.
how about the softwares that i need, it will be okay or it must have compatible?

thank you.. :)
sillynux
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 3:12 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64

Postby Ripose on Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:32 am

Hi Sillynux, your question is way too broad, you need to be more specific, but:

Mint 6.2 64 bit works well on my AMD64 quad, 6.0 & 6.1 did not.
You MIGHT have to change some BIOS settings.
You can still run 32 bit apps if you install ia32-libs you can use Synaptic Package Manger to install this.
User avatar
Ripose
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 2:03 am
Location: Lethbridge, Alberta

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64

Postby garda on Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:36 am

It is impossible to answer your question, since you did not provide us with details. Generally speaking, it is hard to determine whether an operating is compatible with a given machine without actually giving it a run. So the best way to answer your curiosity would be install the operating on your machine then see if it meets your expectation.
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64

Postby rivenought on Thu Mar 19, 2009 5:31 am

Once you run the Live CD, you will be better able to determine if Mint 6 x64 performs to your satisfaction. It has been my experience with my specific hardware that 64-bit Mint runs better than 32-bit Mint. Individual results will vary.

As for software, the 64-bit system will download packages and install from the repositories just like the 32-bit version does. The package manager is smart enough to know what version you are using and will download what version you need.

So, set aside an hour or so to give Mint's 64-bit version a test drive. There is a high probability you will want to install it right away. Have fun.
rivenought
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 10:34 am

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64

Postby sillynux on Fri Mar 20, 2009 6:07 am

ok thanks for your respond..
maybe i'm just worry about my apps later on 64bit.
i think, this time to begin learning more.
i'm installing x64 edition on compaq presario V3000 with Nvidia Go 6150.

thank so much..
sillynux
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 3:12 am

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64

Postby garda on Fri Mar 20, 2009 6:21 am

How much RAM does the laptop have? I bet it has not more than 3 GB. Meaning, you will not gain any sort of advantage from LM 6 x64. Install the x86 (32-bit) variant instead.
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64

Postby kg00005 on Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:58 am

Hi All,

I recenlty installed Linux Mint 6 x64 on my PC, and updated the packages to the latest version.
I also installed and activated Ati restricted driver for my Ati Card, but...
Compiz is not running somehow. I tried to modify Desktop settings from Normal to something else, but no success.

Is there anything that my LinuxMint missing? Maybe other packages that I need to install to get it work?

Thanks,
Ge

Hardware info:
AMD 5000+BE (x64, dual core), 2 GB RAM, Ati HD4670 VGA card
kg00005
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 10:55 am

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64

Postby LaneLester on Fri Mar 20, 2009 1:24 pm

garda wrote:So the best way to answer your curiosity would be install the operating on your machine then see if it meets your expectation.

Wouldn't it be true that if the Live CD works OK, an installation will be OK? That would be a safer/simpler way to test.

Mint 6 x64 is working just fine on my old AMD Athlon 64.

Lane
Last edited by LaneLester on Sat Mar 21, 2009 9:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
Lane Lester
LaneLester
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 3:41 pm

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64

Postby garda on Fri Mar 20, 2009 10:03 pm

LaneLester wrote:Wouldn't it be true that if the Live CD works OK, an installation will be OK? That would be a safer/simpler way to test.

Most of the times, that is true. There are some users who get some technical problems in real installation that they do not get during their Live CD sessions.
User avatar
garda
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: /root

Re: Linux Mint 6 x64

Postby portaflex on Sat Mar 21, 2009 5:03 am

I'm using mint 6 x64 on a custom desktop. ASUS M2N68 Phenom ATX AM2+ motherboard, AMD Phenom 64bit X4 CPU, 8Gb DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8500GT 1GB DDR2. It is just amazing, EVERY THING works: Sound, video (dvdrip, kino, etc), databases, LAN (with avahi because I also use macosx, Bonjour), Vodafone USB G3 connection, aMule, wine (using very specific software). It is worthy to give Mint a try on a new and powerfull computer.
portaflex
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:42 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: acw89, Bing [Bot], BobLuck, fko, KhalVal and 28 guests