Can't unmount volume, says I must be root

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Can't unmount volume, says I must be root

Postby grouchpunk08 on Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:47 am

I used NTFS config to mount a partition that contained my music and videos, and I accidentally mounted my Windows partition with it. The partition I wanted mounted was an NTFS format, and now when I try to manually mount it I can't, and I can't unmount my windows partition at all. Help would be greatly appreciated. This is what my /etc/fstab file looks like if it would help at all. /dev/sda2 is the partition I want mounted, but somehow I unmounted it and I cant remount it. And I can't unmount my windows partition, which is /dev/sda5.


# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# -- This file has been automaticly generated by ntfs-config --
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>

proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
# Entry for /dev/sda6 :
UUID=7d6641e8-95fe-47e2-b5db-05a26a1a7e0d / ext3 relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
# Entry for /dev/sda7 :
UUID=f1be032d-a44f-42a7-90d7-7cbe8968f6e2 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
/dev/sda2 /media/Windows ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0
/dev/sda5 /media/E:\\Music\040and\040Vids ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0



My System specs are

1.83 ghz dual core, intel
4gigs ddr3 ram
Nvidia Geforce 8800m GTS

Running Linux Mint x64, if any of that matters. Like I said, any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
grouchpunk08
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:39 am
Location: Virginia

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Can't unmount volume, says I must be root

Postby chad1 on Thu Mar 19, 2009 2:31 pm

Have u tried
sudo umount /dev/sda5


Also, are you sure that no programs are accessing data on that partition? Check system monitor and make sure no processes are hanging.

Have you read your dmesg?

Just a couple suggestions.
chad1
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 4:17 pm

Re: Can't unmount volume, says I must be root

Postby grouchpunk08 on Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:18 pm

Awesome dude thank you. That worked. I also noticed an extra / in the pathname for my music and vids partition in the /etc/fstab file. so i deleted that and I was able to sudo mount it. Thanks man I really appreciate the help
grouchpunk08
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:39 am
Location: Virginia


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 27 guests