Adept : solved

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Adept : solved

Postby addr on Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:33 pm

I have just installed (twice actually because I thought I had missed the root password window)..realise now there wasn't one. This is Sudo I suppose and I shouldn't complain since I don't understand it.

Anyway I figured that my user password would do where normally I would use su and I managed to download Thunderbird without issue.
If I try Adept now I am told the Adept database could not be opened. 'Try running apt-setup or apt-get in a console'. How? Why one download and no more?

I am really frustrated with this...the scroll in my Firefox is running about three lines an hour and looks like rippling water. I'll track this sort of thing down but I would like some help with Adept or Apt-get or Su.

Thankyou.
Last edited by addr on Sun Apr 29, 2007 10:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
addr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 2:17 pm
Location: Brandon. Manitoba

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby scorp123 on Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:37 pm

User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby VRP on Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:37 pm

If you have the same issue I had, you need to open a text editor as root in a terminal:

sudo kate

(ignore random error messages)

then navigate to this file:

/etc/apt/sources.list

I found some random characters at the end of this line:

deb http://www.linuxmint.com/repository bianca/

twhich just needed deleteing. Save the file and off you go.

This has happened to me a couple of times when adding new sources.

:)
User avatar
VRP
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 3:20 pm

Postby addr on Sun Apr 29, 2007 10:40 pm

There was a . at the end of a line. I'm OK now.
addr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 2:17 pm
Location: Brandon. Manitoba


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: br1anstorm, cecar, Mute Ant, Reorx and 32 guests