Adept : solved

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Adept : solved

Postby addr on Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:33 pm

I have just installed (twice actually because I thought I had missed the root password window)..realise now there wasn't one. This is Sudo I suppose and I shouldn't complain since I don't understand it.

Anyway I figured that my user password would do where normally I would use su and I managed to download Thunderbird without issue.
If I try Adept now I am told the Adept database could not be opened. 'Try running apt-setup or apt-get in a console'. How? Why one download and no more?

I am really frustrated with this...the scroll in my Firefox is running about three lines an hour and looks like rippling water. I'll track this sort of thing down but I would like some help with Adept or Apt-get or Su.

Thankyou.
Last edited by addr on Sun Apr 29, 2007 10:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
addr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 2:17 pm
Location: Brandon. Manitoba

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby scorp123 on Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:37 pm

User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby VRP on Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:37 pm

If you have the same issue I had, you need to open a text editor as root in a terminal:

sudo kate

(ignore random error messages)

then navigate to this file:

/etc/apt/sources.list

I found some random characters at the end of this line:

deb http://www.linuxmint.com/repository bianca/

twhich just needed deleteing. Save the file and off you go.

This has happened to me a couple of times when adding new sources.

:)
User avatar
VRP
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 3:20 pm

Postby addr on Sun Apr 29, 2007 10:40 pm

There was a . at the end of a line. I'm OK now.
addr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 2:17 pm
Location: Brandon. Manitoba


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], rmflagg, skywolfblue, WoodCAT, WrathOfFire and 34 guests