Not sure why partitioning not working as I want

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Re: Not sure why partitioning not working as I want

Postby mipcar on Sat Apr 18, 2009 6:02 pm

BTW I am using Gparted version 0.4.3-2 if that is of any relevant.

Mychael
Always something to learn for those open to learning.
mipcar
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 6:37 am
Location: Melbourne,Victoria,Australia.

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Not sure why partitioning not working as I want

Postby mipcar on Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:13 am

HOO Bluddy Ray.. It worked!!.. Thanks guys.. I've not done anything fancy as yet. Just the basics as I wanted.
Have a swap partition (Primary) one extended with 4 logical inside, and remainder of drive still unallocated.

You might now suggest some better ways to set things out but for the moment I'm happy that I've established I can now do it.

I'll open a new question post for the fine tuning as this one has become a bit drawn out. I'll keep checking into this one if there is anything else anyone wishes to add.

Thanks again to all for your help and patience.

Mychael
Always something to learn for those open to learning.
mipcar
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 6:37 am
Location: Melbourne,Victoria,Australia.

Re: Not sure why partitioning not working as I want

Postby Pierre on Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:39 am

I normally run either 2, or, 3, O/Ss on the one hdd. + /data + /swap.
so, that would be hda0, hda1, <hda2>, hda5 & hda6.
I would lay them down, as primary (hda0), primary (hda1), logical <extended> hda5, logical <extended> hda6.
finally primary hda2, if needed.
that's 3 primary & the 4th as logical <extended>.

if I need to go above that, then the extra"s go into the logical <extended> as hda7++
the logical partition will list as hda3. (the 4th primary).
:)
Image
User avatar
Pierre
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1432
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Previous

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], frogeyedan and 31 guests