ADSL Internet

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

ADSL Internet

Postby therobomeister on Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:49 am

My desktop connects to the internet via an adsl router on linux mint, and my laptop connects on fedora through the same router, but I can't get my laptop to connect when mint/ubuntu is running. Any ideas?
therobomeister
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 12:43 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: ADSL Internet

Postby Fornhamfred on Sun Apr 19, 2009 12:46 pm

Hi

Welcome to Mint.

I assume that your desktop has a wired ethernet connection to your router wheras you are attempting to connect wirelessly with your laptop. Can I suggest you have a look at the following: http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php/MintWifi .

Come back again with more details on your hardware if you are unable to connect.

Good Luck.
Fornhamfred
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Suffolk UK

Re: ADSL Internet

Postby therobomeister on Sun Apr 19, 2009 1:23 pm

No, I was attempting a wired connection. I have solved it by uninstalling network manager and installing wicd from here: http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... _id=659059

I spent ages trying to fix this. Trust me to find the answer as soon as I post for help!

I still don't understand why it didn't work, so an explanation would be nice if you care, but I'm just happy it's working, so no worries if you don't reply.

Thanks
therobomeister
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 12:43 pm

Re: ADSL Internet

Postby Fornhamfred on Sun Apr 19, 2009 2:04 pm

There is a known bug in the network manager in Mint 6 ( inherited from Ubuntu 8.10 ). I have installed WICD to allow the use of a static IP address but I think you will understand more if you have a look at this link:http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=150&t=19763.
Fornhamfred
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Suffolk UK


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 20 guests