firefox codecs

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

firefox codecs

Postby babujbf on Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:19 am

For some reason some video sites, youtube like sites do not let me play videos and asks me to download "codecs.exe". But youtube works, something similar use to happen with ubuntu if you didnt install restricted but everything here seemed to work fine... weird.

Any missing codecs? or are some sites just possible to run with windows?
babujbf
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 12:20 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: firefox codecs

Postby fwc on Wed Apr 22, 2009 5:56 am

which websites are you talking about? It sounds more like a flash problem than a firefox problem
User avatar
fwc
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:23 am

Re: firefox codecs

Postby det4100 on Wed Apr 22, 2009 6:56 am

codec.exe or codecs.exe sounds more like some type of malware or addware dropper. Most Windows codec installation packages would have some sort of prefix attatched to the "codec" part of the file, such as dbpoweramp-codec.exe or msu-sc-codec.exe. But, no worries, you are running linux. No need for .exe files to mess up your system.

det4100
det4100

Running Mint Debian
User avatar
det4100
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 9:51 am
Location: New York


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: austin.texas, Bing [Bot], jockotucker, panorain and 36 guests