Mint Menu

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Mint Menu

Postby maprx on Wed May 09, 2007 6:23 am

my mint menu, either opens up completly or partially and sometimes does not close it stays above the application. this is on version 2.2. any ideas?
User avatar
maprx
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:44 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Wed May 09, 2007 7:42 am

First - do you have Beryl installed?
If so there is a bug that means you have to click three times to open/close the menu. Don't kn ow if it's changed with never versions
If so the solution should be found here
http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... s_problems
Also right click on the icon to the left of "Bianca" and select "Reload plugins"
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby lars on Wed May 09, 2007 9:40 am

maprx: what do you mean by "partially"? Are only some parts of the menu shown? Maybe you can provide a screenshot to clarify things a bit.
lars
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 11:58 am

Postby Husse on Wed May 09, 2007 9:55 am

or partially
Did not "see" that :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Boo on Wed May 09, 2007 10:34 pm

my mintmenu now stays open once an application has opened.
I have to click on it to close it.

I have not tried removing and adding mint menu yet.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby Husse on Thu May 10, 2007 4:36 am

@Boo
You have Beryl?
Sounds like the focus problem in the link a few posts before this one
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby D1Wayne on Sun May 13, 2007 3:42 pm

is there a quick way to turn the search string off or toggle it's display in mint menu, short of uninstall or remove from panel :) .

I personally only search for file/folders by name and not content 99.998% of the time

perhaps need a context type search only 3 or 4 times a year on my machine,
so the following recursive list gives me what I need.
Code: Select all
ls  -A -R -s -n -b --file-type -D --author  > directory.txt

and serves as a baseline for finding changes made to machines files )and net accessed stores as well.
D1Wayne
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Pacific North West

Postby lars on Mon May 14, 2007 11:31 am

no, there is no option to turn the search field of.

Maybe I will add it in further releases, but as its main function is to filter your programms, i don't thing so.
lars
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 11:58 am

Postby D1Wayne on Tue May 15, 2007 1:50 am

thanks. would be appreciated
D1Wayne
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Pacific North West

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], cortman, jtombs and 39 guests