No sound in Firefox

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

No sound in Firefox

Postby mafteechr on Thu May 14, 2009 11:39 am

Specifically when using flash websites such as youtube or hulu. I've tried each of the sound devices that are listed in my volume control. I'm rather new to Linux, so bear with please.
mafteechr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 11:35 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: No sound in Firefox

Postby shane on Sat May 16, 2009 5:25 am

Please mention exactly which version of Mint you are using. And give us the out put of 'lspci' run in the terminal.
User avatar
shane
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:15 pm

Re: No sound in Firefox

Postby mafteechr on Sat May 16, 2009 1:54 pm

I'm using Linux Mint 7 RC1.

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GME Express Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GME Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g (rev 01)
mafteechr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 11:35 am

Re: No sound in Firefox

Postby shane on Sat May 16, 2009 2:25 pm

Please report this as a bug in the bug thread for the RC release...

viewtopic.php?f=143&t=25408

Sound for flash should work out of the box... Maybe it is something specific for your hardware... I am not sure. But please report this so that you will not have to go through this in the final release. Some who knows a fix might help you out over there as well.
User avatar
shane
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:15 pm

Re: No sound in Firefox

Postby richyrich on Sat May 16, 2009 2:30 pm

It's already in the bug thread, and there is a workaround for rc1 too.

regards, Richard

ps: shane, the sig below isn't for you! :wink:
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4928
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm
Location: Pirating somewhere along the North Saskatchewan River, Canada

Re: No sound in Firefox

Postby shane on Sat May 16, 2009 2:44 pm

:D I must confess I haven't been following the RC bug thread...
User avatar
shane
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:15 pm

Re: No sound in Firefox

Postby mafteechr on Sat May 16, 2009 2:52 pm

Can I please get directed to the workaround? I'm not able to locate it.
mafteechr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 11:35 am

Re: No sound in Firefox

Postby richyrich on Sat May 16, 2009 2:55 pm

shane,
Yea, lots to follow . . I think the proprietary flash needs to be replaced.
Seems to me to be a lot of anticipation around here! Personally, I'm sqirmin'n'ma'seat for the kde release :D for my eye candy machine, and I'll patiently wait for xfce.

regards, Richard

mafteechr,
I'll search for the thread.

Re: mint and flash

New postby rivenathos on Fri May 15, 2009 2:26 pm

Code: Select all
apt remove --purge -y flashplugin-nonfree nspluginwrapper



Code: Select all
apt install flashplugin-nonfree


The above seems to be the general consensus cure for this problem. There are a dozen or so threads in the forum with regards to this same ailment, so you may want to look at a few of them to see if you need anything special.


hope this will help . . . on the bright side, Mint 7 stable will be released soon! :D
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4928
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm
Location: Pirating somewhere along the North Saskatchewan River, Canada

Re: No sound in Firefox

Postby shane on Sat May 16, 2009 5:24 pm

why are we still using nspluginwrapper? It caused most of the Flash problems in Felicia... :?
User avatar
shane
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:15 pm

Re: No sound in Firefox

Postby Husse on Sat May 16, 2009 5:49 pm

shane wrote:why are we still using nspluginwrapper? It caused most of the Flash problems in Felicia... :?

We are not! I distinctly remember that it was to be removed and I just checked in my laptop - it is not installed
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: No sound in Firefox

Postby mafteechr on Sat May 16, 2009 10:25 pm

I did both of those commands and it is still not working.
mafteechr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 11:35 am

Re: No sound in Firefox

Postby richyrich on Sun May 17, 2009 9:27 am

Found another thread,

Re: Problems with Youtube and others

Postby Ozz on Thu May 14, 2009 8:53 am
Hi I had the exact same problem, with youtube, Deezer etc... freezing after I changed tabs and navigated to something else, or just being slow and stuff

My solution to this (credit goes to Miket for this actually :D )

Type this in the Terminal to remove the non-free flashplugin

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get remove flashplugin-nonfree

Then this to install the Adobe Flash plugin

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install adobe-flashplugin


They went on to state that this fixed it for the user. Might be something to try?
regards, Richard
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4928
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm
Location: Pirating somewhere along the North Saskatchewan River, Canada

Re: No sound in Firefox

Postby mafteechr on Sun May 17, 2009 1:49 pm

Well, I'm thinking my flash works fine. However, I just tried playing an mp3 file and I got no sound. I made sure all the output devices had sound turned up and were not muted, but alas, nothing. Now it seems that my sound just doesn't work. I'm using an HP Mini 1000 if that makes a difference.
mafteechr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 11:35 am

Re: No sound in Firefox

Postby papagyo on Sun May 17, 2009 2:31 pm

mafteechr,

I have an HP1120NR which is essentially the same thing you have except for the 10' screen. I tried every trick out there located both on this site and Ubuntu and a few others also, and I can say for sure that Ubuntu 9.04 and Mint 7RC1 do not work out of the box for sound on these systems. I just went back to mint 6 and everything works perfectly even after updating, same goes for the previous version of Ubuntu. Not sure if it is the version of Alsa because 1.0.17 worked fine but 1.0.18 which both mint 7 and Ubuntu 9.04 used does not produce any sound. Sorry I can't help you out more.

Brian
papagyo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 10:38 pm

Re: No sound in Firefox

Postby kansasnoob on Sun May 17, 2009 3:14 pm

Follow only Part A of this guide:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=789578

Then move on to the troubleshooting section.
kansasnoob
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 1:45 pm

Re: No sound in Firefox

Postby mafteechr on Sun May 17, 2009 5:08 pm

I went through Part A, and I got the "Connection failed: Connection refused" error, so I tried the code in the terminal and that also gave me the "Connection failed: Connection refused" error. Here is what it said:

Code: Select all
$ pulseaudio & pavucontrol
[1] 3840
I: caps.c: Limited capabilities successfully to CAP_SYS_NICE.
I: caps.c: Dropping root privileges.
I: caps.c: Limited capabilities successfully to CAP_SYS_NICE.
N: main.c: Called SUID root and real-time and/or high-priority scheduling was requested in the configuration. However, we lack the necessary privileges:
N: main.c: We are not in group 'pulse-rt', PolicyKit refuse to grant us the requested privileges and we have no increase RLIMIT_NICE/RLIMIT_RTPRIO resource limits.
N: main.c: For enabling real-time/high-priority scheduling please acquire the appropriate PolicyKit privileges, or become a member of 'pulse-rt', or increase the RLIMIT_NICE/RLIMIT_RTPRIO resource limits for this user.
E: socket-server.c: bind(): Address already in use
E: module.c: Failed to load  module "module-esound-protocol-unix" (argument: ""): initialization failed.
E: main.c: Module load failed.
E: main.c: Failed to initialize daemon.

(pavucontrol:3841): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_main_quit: assertion `main_loops != NULL' failed

(pavucontrol:3841): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_main_quit: assertion `main_loops != NULL' failed
[1]+  Exit 1                  pulseaudio
mafteechr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 11:35 am

Re: No sound in Firefox

Postby kansasnoob on Sun May 17, 2009 6:00 pm

OK! This:

N: main.c: We are not in group 'pulse-rt',


tells me something. Look at this guide (but be cautious and read everything I say):

http://www.ubuntugeek.com/sound-solutio ... ent-page-1

You see the part where it says:

n System/Adminstration/Users and Groups check that your users and root are members of the following groups

pulse
pulse-access
pulse-rt

Reboot your system


That's part of the problem. Actually Markbuntu's guide:

http://www.ubuntugeek.com/sound-solutio ... ent-page-1

Is fine .................. except you do not want to install ubuntu-restricted-extras!

Other than that it should be fairly safe to follow that guide in Mint 7. But I've not had time to try it out in it's entirety in Mint!
kansasnoob
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 1:45 pm

Re: No sound in Firefox

Postby papagyo on Sun May 17, 2009 9:08 pm

Hi all,
Part A of this did not work for me with a fresh install of Mint 7 RC1, As I stated in an earlier post any of the suggested fixes did not solve my particular problem and I know for a fact that I had it set exactly as recommended. This post http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1046137 got the sound working to play mp3's and videos and such but is of no use to get the sound playing once Firefox application is opened. Sound does not work with or without any flash playing.....as long as the Firefox application is open all system sound is dead.

Brian
papagyo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 10:38 pm

Re: No sound in Firefox

Postby kansasnoob on Sun May 17, 2009 10:55 pm

Well, I've had no trouble in Mint 7, but in Jaunty I used Luke Yelavich's PPA's:

https://launchpad.net/~themuso/+archive/ppa

Of course that's an at your own risk deal!

I still wonder, if it's flash only that's effected, if you might have some gnash or swfdec packages installed???????????????

Go to package manager and type "flash" into Search (not the quick search or rebuilding search).

With a virgin install of Mint 7 you should only see .........................

Oh crap I have to reboot, I'm in Jaunty right now!

I'll be back directly!
kansasnoob
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 1:45 pm

Re: No sound in Firefox

Postby kansasnoob on Sun May 17, 2009 11:11 pm

OK, it's different between Ubuntu and Mint! (I knew it was)

In Mint 7 if you search flash in package manager you should only see "flashplugin-installer" and "flashplugin-nonfree' installed.

If you see adobe-flashplugin or any gnash or swfdec packages installed mark them for "complete removal". Then apply!
kansasnoob
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 1:45 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 24 guests