Dual Monitors - Is it possible to config?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Dual Monitors - Is it possible to config?

Postby virtualu2 on Mon May 18, 2009 11:09 am

Hi,
I have a Dell D830 laptop and use a docking station during the day.

I want to use an external ViewSonic monitor at the standard 1440x900 resolution and then an ACER external monitor with a standard resolution (i believe of 1280x768 or the dsiplay manager shows me an option for 1280x1024) - it is a regular ACER 17" flat panel.

I am not going to use the laptop screen during the day and that native resolution is 1280x800
virtualu2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 9:43 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Dual Monitors - Is it possible to config?

Postby emorrp1 on Mon May 18, 2009 11:14 am

Hopefully Menu --> System --> Preferences --> Display will solve your problem, it should be able to detect your monitors when they're plugged in. If however you use proprietary drivers (e.g. for ATI/nVidia) you need to use their control center to configure it.
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: Dual Monitors - Is it possible to config?

Postby Havoc on Mon May 18, 2009 11:22 am

Assuming you have an nvidia card and have the nvidia drivers installed. Make sure you have the nvidia-settings package installed. If not, install it like this.


Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install nvidia-settings




There is a gui option to start nvidia-settings, but you want to run it as root so that you can save the settings you choose to your xorg.conf file.

So start it like such.


Code: Select all
sudo nvidia-settings




There you can set up your monitors how you wish, once you have it set up how you like it, apply it and then save to xorg.conf. Now those settings will be retained after you reboot.
User avatar
Havoc
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 9:39 am

Re: Dual Monitors - Is it possible to config?

Postby virtualu2 on Mon May 18, 2009 12:14 pm

Thx, I tried display and I can move the monitors around but I can't get the one titled "VGA" to come up.

I tried using Grandr and the "Extend" option is greyed out.

Here is my xorg.conf as I figured this was next. I had tried this previoulsy on a couple distros and never got it working, I am not sure why it is such a big deal. Thx in advance for the great help this forum provides!

/etc/X11 $ cat xorg.conf
# xorg.conf (X.Org X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
# (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# Note that some configuration settings that could be done previously
# in this file, now are automatically configured by the server and settings
# here are ignored.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
# sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
Device "Configured Video Device"
SubSection "Display"
Virtual 3744 1700
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "DontZap" "False"
EndSection
virtualu2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 9:43 am

Re: Dual Monitors - Is it possible to config?

Postby emorrp1 on Mon May 18, 2009 1:04 pm

I think you need dual graphics cards for more than dual screens to work (where laptop screen is included), but I could be wrong.
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: Dual Monitors - Is it possible to config?

Postby AK Dave on Mon May 18, 2009 5:09 pm

Your docking station supports dual monitors? Haven't seen one like that, but if so thats really cool.

Mint or Jaunty both work great with dual monitors. Both my laptop (ATI Xpress w/ open source driver) and my netbook (Intel 945 w/ open source driver) have Jaunty on them at present, and in both cases I can plug in any external monitor and pull up "Display" to have it work immediately. No reboot, no restart-X, they just work.

My wife's desktop has an older nVidia card that is supported by the 173 driver from nVidia. Mint was happy to install that, it works fine, and I can confirm that both the VGA and DVI ports on her card work simultaneously to drive dual monitors flawlessly. My current plan, once I upgrade her with a nicer computer, is to use that card's DVI capability to drive video through DVI->HDMI and into my big TV as part of a media center.

So, dual monitors are not a problem so long as your hardware supports it. The software supports it.
User avatar
AK Dave
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1043
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Anchorage, AK USA


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: chzuck, Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], jl91569, panorain and 37 guests