linux mint MO SOUND??!!!!!!!!!?!?!??!?!?!!?!!!!!???

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

linux mint MO SOUND??!!!!!!!!!?!?!??!?!?!!?!!!!!???

Postby person3412 on Tue May 26, 2009 9:21 pm

So I recently installed the most awesome operating system in the world (linux mint 6) and there's NO SOUND :cry:
I saw on another forum that it said to do lspci to get certain information and here's what I got:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ/P/PL Memory Controller Hub
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ/P/PL PCI Express Root Port
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 01)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GR/GH/GHM (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 01)
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GR/GH/GHM (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 6 (rev 01)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 01)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 01)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 01)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev e1)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GB/GR (ICH7 Family) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801GB/GR/GH (ICH7 Family) SATA IDE Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 01)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV380 [Radeon X600 (PCIE)]
01:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV380 [Radeon X600]
05:04.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy LS
05:05.0 Modem: Intel Corporation FA82537EP 56K V.92 Data/Fax Modem PCI (rev 04)
05:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) LAN Controller (rev 01)

And yes I did try plugging it into the headphones jack, and I had sound but it was scratchy and high-piched.


linux mint main gnome desktop
person3412
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 9:11 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: linux mint MO SOUND??!!!!!!!!!?!?!??!?!?!!?!!!!!???

Postby kei84 on Tue May 26, 2009 9:24 pm

Type alsamixer in your terminal and put all the level at max.
kei84
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:54 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: linux mint MO SOUND??!!!!!!!!!?!?!??!?!?!!?!!!!!???

Postby rahend on Tue May 26, 2009 11:43 pm

linux mint 6 is not the most awesome operating system in the world.


linux mint 7 is :)
rahend
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 8:41 pm

Re: linux mint MO SOUND??!!!!!!!!!?!?!??!?!?!!?!!!!!???

Postby papagyo on Wed May 27, 2009 3:09 am

Hi All,

Well with my audio problems not solved in the RC1 version I was waiting until the final release, installed it and guess what no sound at all from anything....this was a fresh install of the main edition with no updates. I have an HP mini 1000 (1120NR to be exact) and Mint version 6 worked perfectly with no work arounds for sound at all. I have read an re-read most posts here and at the Ubuntu forums to no avail. I am not afraid of trying some things and breaking the system because it is not my main PC but more just a toy. Although sound is not that big a deal it would be nice. Bear with me also as I am new to Linux, I am hoping someone can help me out to get this working. What info do I need to provide here and how to get it (terminal commands) would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Brian

lspci output


brian@Home ~ $ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GME Express Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GME Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g (rev 01)
papagyo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 10:38 pm

Re: linux mint MO SOUND??!!!!!!!!!?!?!??!?!?!!?!!!!!???

Postby person3412 on Wed May 27, 2009 5:03 pm

thanks brian for asking another question on this exact forum with the same problem different specs, leaving my question unsolved!


I tried alsamixer it doesn't work
person3412
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: linux mint MO SOUND??!!!!!!!!!?!?!??!?!?!!?!!!!!???

Postby papagyo on Wed May 27, 2009 5:47 pm

person3412,

Well I did not get any help either, but I have fixed the problem on my own. First thing is I know from using Ubuntu 9.04 that alsa version 1.0.18 does not work with my HP 1120NR. This is the version that I believe comes with Mint 7, also I have tried a script that updates to newest version 1.0.20 and this did get the sound half-way working....sound would not play in Firefox (youtube etc.). So I used this script here and changed it to download an older version 1.0.19 which I know works with my HP mini, It was called alsa_setup.sh I can provide it to you if you like. Second I followed part A of this http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=789578 and third I added this:

options snd-pcsp index=-2
alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-slot-0 snd-hda-intel
options snd-hda-intel model=hp-m4
options snd-hda-intel enable_msi=1

to my alsa-base.conf file and from there everything worked including sound in Firefox etc. I am by no means a Linux expert but I did not alter any mixer or sound settings other than the three things I did as described above. I am happy now as all sound is working as it should, I might also add that this was a fresh install of Mint 7 with no updates done and without messing with flashplayer stuff. I think I will most likely not mess with any updates unless they are really needed. Hope this helps you out.

Brian
papagyo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 10:38 pm

Re: linux mint MO SOUND??!!!!!!!!!?!?!??!?!?!!?!!!!!???

Postby altair4 on Wed May 27, 2009 7:09 pm

person3412
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)

papagyo
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)

Mine
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)


I fixed mine by adding the following to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf:
Code: Select all
options snd-hda-intel model=hp-m4 enable=1 index=0
options snd-hda-intel enable_msi=1

I think all of these devices are close enough that one of these solutions might work for you.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5987
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: linux mint MO SOUND??!!!!!!!!!?!?!??!?!?!!?!!!!!???

Postby Husse on Fri May 29, 2009 5:51 am

altair4 linked to this in another topic
If you search for ICH sound in the forum you get lots of posts by me linking to a standard solution like this:
You have Intel HDA sound and it is very probable that the standard solution for all kinds of problems with HDA works
viewtopic.php?f=48&t=17801&p=107982&hilit=ich8+alsa#p107982
You change model to what ever you have or auto
You may have to try different "models" to get it to work - brand or model ...
The first thing to do is search - in the forum and on the web
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: linux mint MO SOUND??!!!!!!!!!?!?!??!?!?!!?!!!!!???

Postby lexon on Fri May 29, 2009 4:08 pm

altair4 wrote:person3412
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)

papagyo
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)

Mine
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)


I fixed mine by adding the following to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf:
Code: Select all
options snd-hda-intel model=hp-m4 enable=1 index=0
options snd-hda-intel enable_msi=1

I think all of these devices are close enough that one of these solutions might work for you.


Hello

The audio in my desktop with new Mint 7 Main Edition is very low. I just tried

Code: Select all
options snd-hda-intel model=hp-m4 enable=1 index=0
options snd-hda-intel enable_msi=1


but I was told I did not have permission or I typed it wrong.

I also used alsamixer and all levels were at Maximum.

Any ideas? Thanks.

lexon
Lindows, Linspire, Freespire, Ubuntu, Mint 15 Cinnamon, Mint 16 XFCE, Mint 17 Cinnamon 64 bit.
lexon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 708
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 10:53 pm
Location: MA USA

Re: linux mint MO SOUND??!!!!!!!!!?!?!??!?!?!!?!!!!!???

Postby altair4 on Fri May 29, 2009 4:27 pm

Open Terminal
Type gksu gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
Then add the lines and save
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5987
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: linux mint MO SOUND??!!!!!!!!!?!?!??!?!?!!?!!!!!???

Postby lexon on Fri May 29, 2009 4:47 pm

Hi altair4

Ok, I was able to modify the file but still very low audio. Actually, the same as before.

lexon
Lindows, Linspire, Freespire, Ubuntu, Mint 15 Cinnamon, Mint 16 XFCE, Mint 17 Cinnamon 64 bit.
lexon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 708
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 10:53 pm
Location: MA USA

Re: linux mint MO SOUND??!!!!!!!!!?!?!??!?!?!!?!!!!!???

Postby altair4 on Fri May 29, 2009 5:03 pm

Reboot
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5987
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: linux mint MO SOUND??!!!!!!!!!?!?!??!?!?!!?!!!!!???

Postby lexon on Fri May 29, 2009 5:35 pm

altair4 wrote:Reboot


Shades of Windows. I have been yelled at for suggesting that with Linux. Thanks, but I had tried that already.
I am going to give up for a while. This is the only thing that bothers me concerning ready to use Linux Operating Systems.
I have a real stand alone DVD platyer that always works.

lexon
Lindows, Linspire, Freespire, Ubuntu, Mint 15 Cinnamon, Mint 16 XFCE, Mint 17 Cinnamon 64 bit.
lexon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 708
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 10:53 pm
Location: MA USA

Re: linux mint MO SOUND??!!!!!!!!!?!?!??!?!?!!?!!!!!???

Postby AndyP79 on Fri May 29, 2009 5:43 pm

Hi All,
i am using Mint 7 also right now. I am not getting any sound, and when I have tried several of these solutions on here and the various links, I still get nothing even after rebooting. here is my output:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/PM/GMS, 943/940GML and 945GT Express Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 01)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 01)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 01)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 01)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e1)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) IDE Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801GBM/GHM (ICH7 Family) SATA AHCI Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 01)
06:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 802.11b/g WLAN (rev 01)
08:08.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)


I have not clue what to do, so any help is more then I know,

Thanks
Andy
The older you get the more rules they are going to try and get you to follow. You just gotta keep on livin man! L-I-V-I-N!
User avatar
AndyP79
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 11:50 pm

Re: linux mint MO SOUND??!!!!!!!!!?!?!??!?!?!!?!!!!!???

Postby lexon on Sat May 30, 2009 5:16 pm

My solution. Re-installed Mint 7 plus increased gain of external preamp.

lexon
Lindows, Linspire, Freespire, Ubuntu, Mint 15 Cinnamon, Mint 16 XFCE, Mint 17 Cinnamon 64 bit.
lexon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 708
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 10:53 pm
Location: MA USA

Re: linux mint MO SOUND??!!!!!!!!!?!?!??!?!?!!?!!!!!???

Postby inhisgrace on Fri Jun 26, 2009 8:19 pm

Solved!! In Firefox open preferences, open the applications tab.
Change all video applications to: Use Movie Player (default); except that I did not change Shock wave flash (application/future splash) and Shock wave flash (application/x-shockwave-flash). So far I have sound in all videos that use flashplayer.
Hope this helps. I have been fighting this problem for some time.
inhisgrace
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 4:29 pm

Re: linux mint MO SOUND??!!!!!!!!!?!?!??!?!?!!?!!!!!???

Postby lexon on Fri Jun 26, 2009 8:33 pm

The question that begs asking is, why doesn't Mint do this when being installed? It is labeled, Default.
Anyone?

lexon
Lindows, Linspire, Freespire, Ubuntu, Mint 15 Cinnamon, Mint 16 XFCE, Mint 17 Cinnamon 64 bit.
lexon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 708
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 10:53 pm
Location: MA USA

Re: linux mint MO SOUND??!!!!!!!!!?!?!??!?!?!!?!!!!!???

Postby inhisgrace on Sun Jun 28, 2009 5:23 pm

Well, it worked fine for a couple of days, now it is back to no sound in flashplayer. Might be time to go back to my old os, pclinuxos.
inhisgrace
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 4:29 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alfredok, I2k4, Jerry N and 25 guests