Flash videos

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Flash videos

Postby renkai on Sun May 20, 2007 8:33 pm

Hello everyone I am fairly new to Linux and today has been my first day trying out Linux Mint. So far I like it much better than other distros I've been fooling around with (ubuntu 7.04, suse 10.2, xandros desktop 4)...

Anyway I can't get flash videos to play in Linux Mint and wondering if I could get some suggestions about that. I've got a bunch of CS3 tutorial videos, all in .flv format fresh off one of the discs with the new release from adobe. I'm not running photoshop or any software from CS3 on Linux Mint, but I would like to be able to view the tutorial video files.

What happens when I try to play the videos is: Movie Player opens up and attempts to play the file, but all I get is a blank screen. I click the play button and it seems like it's about to play, but I get nothing. I don't get any errors or system hangups or anything either, just no video. Any suggestions?
renkai
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Postby skampo on Sun May 20, 2007 10:40 pm

vlc from the software portal works pretty good
skampo
Level 1
Level 1

Postby renkai on Mon May 21, 2007 6:09 am

Thanks I will try that one... when I can log back in to Linux Mint again. Currently I can't log in any user, something suddenly is now locking me out :(
renkai
Level 1
Level 1

Postby renkai on Mon May 21, 2007 9:29 am