Sound Juicer--a CD limit?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Sound Juicer--a CD limit?

Postby Wintergreen on Fri May 25, 2007 12:02 am

I'm using soundjuicer to extract tracks from my CD collection. I'm extracting files as .wavs in each case (lossless...and so they will extract rather slowly. ~ 5 x playback speed).

So far so good.

I'm running Bianca on a PC which sports 512MB main ram.

Each time a disk is copied to it's conclusion I click EJECT, and then I insert a new CD.....which I then extract.

This goes along just fine until I've worked my way through a dozen or so CD's...but then when I click "extract" the sequence suddenly no longer works--clicking on extract does nothing.

My GUESS is that I've run up against some sort of memory limit...but can anyone tell me for sure? Perhaps there is some sort of cache I can clear out so that I might be able to continue on without rebooting?

Thanks for any reply


wintergreen
Wintergreen
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:20 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Sound Juicer--a CD limit?

Postby marcus0263 on Sun Jun 03, 2007 11:36 pm

Wintergreen wrote:I'm using soundjuicer to extract tracks from my CD collection. I'm extracting files as .wavs in each case (lossless...and so they will extract rather slowly. ~ 5 x playback speed).

So far so good.

I'm running Bianca on a PC which sports 512MB main ram.

Each time a disk is copied to it's conclusion I click EJECT, and then I insert a new CD.....which I then extract.

This goes along just fine until I've worked my way through a dozen or so CD's...but then when I click "extract" the sequence suddenly no longer works--clicking on extract does nothing.

My GUESS is that I've run up against some sort of memory limit...but can anyone tell me for sure? Perhaps there is some sort of cache I can clear out so that I might be able to continue on without rebooting?

Thanks for any reply


wintergreen

Sounds like a memory leak would be my guess. Run sound-juicer through the terminal but with strace.

Code: Select all
strace sound-juicer


You'll more than likely need to install strace, it's in the repositories so no worries. Very handy tool to have to find out why a program is being "difficult" ;-)

BTW - Why you ripping in WAV? FLAC is so much better ;-)
Shuttle SX58
Intel i7 Gulftown Hex Core
G.Skill 16Gig 1333
OCS Vertex 2 SSD
Segate SATA II
Palit GeForce GTS 450
LMKDE 14 64Bit

Where Thought Crime is Committed
Reject the Herd
User avatar
marcus0263
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 9:40 am
Location: Seattle


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: all41, austin.texas, Google [Bot], Hecubus, Mute Ant and 43 guests