SOLVED: Help with Sound

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

SOLVED: Help with Sound

Postby AshtheFlash on Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:39 am

Hi,

I've just installed my first Linux software - Mint 7. It all went extremely well. All I'm lacking is sound. I've run lspci from a terminal (see below) and all looks OK. Getting no reaction with any tests. Gigabyte ga-k8n pro sli Realtec onboard sound. Any help greatly appreciated

00:00.0 Memory controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 Memory Controller (rev a3)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 ISA Bridge (rev a3)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation CK804 SMBus (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 USB Controller (rev a2)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:04.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 AC'97 Audio Controller (rev a2)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK804 IDE (rev f2)
00:07.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK804 Serial ATA Controller (rev f3)
00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK804 Serial ATA Controller (rev f3)
00:09.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:0a.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 Ethernet Controller (rev a3)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCIE Bridge (rev a3)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCIE Bridge (rev a3)
00:0d.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCIE Bridge (rev a3)
00:0e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCIE Bridge (rev a3)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:0a.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB82AA2 IEEE-1394b Link Layer Controller (rev 01)
05:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV43 [GeForce 6600 GT] (rev a2)

Stay Cool

Ash the Flash
Last edited by AshtheFlash on Sun Jun 14, 2009 2:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
AshtheFlash
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:18 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Help with Sound

Postby Nicki on Sat Jun 13, 2009 8:29 am

Try to install Alsa-mixer and see if any output is set to low and rise them to highest volume. This can help someone.
Nicki
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 3:15 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Help with Sound

Postby AshtheFlash on Sat Jun 13, 2009 8:51 am

Downloaded and installed all were set to high.. no joy there.... any other ideas?
AshtheFlash
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:18 am

Re: Help with Sound

Postby AshtheFlash on Sat Jun 13, 2009 9:18 am

Graphics are also running slow... could thus be a larger chipset driver problem???

Keen to solve.. please let me know if I need to provide more info
AshtheFlash
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:18 am

Re: Help with Sound

Postby Nicki on Sat Jun 13, 2009 11:04 am

Nicki
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 3:15 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Help with Sound

Postby kei84 on Sat Jun 13, 2009 11:16 am

It could be a problem with Pulseaudio. You can try removing it using synaptic.

About the graphics, you can try switching between the default driver and the proprietary driver.
kei84
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:54 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Help with Sound

Postby AshtheFlash on Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:58 pm

Thanks so much for your help with this...

I've removed Pulseaudio and followed the thread instructions. I'm not getting a peep out of the sound card???

Graphics now running well.

Ash the Flash
AshtheFlash
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:18 am

Re: Help with Sound

Postby AshtheFlash on Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:10 pm

Not sure if it helps but looks like it could help diagnose.

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: CK804 [NVidia CK804], device 0: Intel ICH [NVidia CK804]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: CK804 [NVidia CK804], device 2: Intel ICH - IEC958 [NVidia CK804 - IEC958]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #
AshtheFlash
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:18 am

Re: Help with Sound

Postby AshtheFlash on Sun Jun 14, 2009 2:20 am

All good.. stuck and old Soundblaster card in and it fired right up... Not sure what the prob was but I'm now a very happy Mint user....

Very impressive how it all just flowed for the most part.

Cheers

Ash
AshtheFlash
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:18 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: adf2000, Bing [Bot], HerrDierk, lewtwo, Tenandra, WharfRat and 31 guests