SOLVED: Help with Sound

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

SOLVED: Help with Sound

Postby AshtheFlash on Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:39 am

Hi,

I've just installed my first Linux software - Mint 7. It all went extremely well. All I'm lacking is sound. I've run lspci from a terminal (see below) and all looks OK. Getting no reaction with any tests. Gigabyte ga-k8n pro sli Realtec onboard sound. Any help greatly appreciated

00:00.0 Memory controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 Memory Controller (rev a3)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 ISA Bridge (rev a3)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation CK804 SMBus (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 USB Controller (rev a2)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:04.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 AC'97 Audio Controller (rev a2)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK804 IDE (rev f2)
00:07.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK804 Serial ATA Controller (rev f3)
00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK804 Serial ATA Controller (rev f3)
00:09.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:0a.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 Ethernet Controller (rev a3)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCIE Bridge (rev a3)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCIE Bridge (rev a3)
00:0d.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCIE Bridge (rev a3)
00:0e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCIE Bridge (rev a3)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:0a.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB82AA2 IEEE-1394b Link Layer Controller (rev 01)
05:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV43 [GeForce 6600 GT] (rev a2)

Stay Cool

Ash the Flash
Last edited by AshtheFlash on Sun Jun 14, 2009 2:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
AshtheFlash
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:18 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Help with Sound

Postby Nicki on Sat Jun 13, 2009 8:29 am

Try to install Alsa-mixer and see if any output is set to low and rise them to highest volume. This can help someone.
Nicki
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 3:15 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Help with Sound

Postby AshtheFlash on Sat Jun 13, 2009 8:51 am

Downloaded and installed all were set to high.. no joy there.... any other ideas?
AshtheFlash
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:18 am

Re: Help with Sound

Postby AshtheFlash on Sat Jun 13, 2009 9:18 am

Graphics are also running slow... could thus be a larger chipset driver problem???

Keen to solve.. please let me know if I need to provide more info
AshtheFlash
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:18 am

Re: Help with Sound

Postby Nicki on Sat Jun 13, 2009 11:04 am

Nicki
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 3:15 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Help with Sound

Postby kei84 on Sat Jun 13, 2009 11:16 am

It could be a problem with Pulseaudio. You can try removing it using synaptic.

About the graphics, you can try switching between the default driver and the proprietary driver.
kei84
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:54 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Help with Sound

Postby AshtheFlash on Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:58 pm

Thanks so much for your help with this...

I've removed Pulseaudio and followed the thread instructions. I'm not getting a peep out of the sound card???

Graphics now running well.

Ash the Flash
AshtheFlash
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:18 am

Re: Help with Sound

Postby AshtheFlash on Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:10 pm

Not sure if it helps but looks like it could help diagnose.

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: CK804 [NVidia CK804], device 0: Intel ICH [NVidia CK804]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: CK804 [NVidia CK804], device 2: Intel ICH - IEC958 [NVidia CK804 - IEC958]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #
AshtheFlash
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:18 am

Re: Help with Sound

Postby AshtheFlash on Sun Jun 14, 2009 2:20 am

All good.. stuck and old Soundblaster card in and it fired right up... Not sure what the prob was but I'm now a very happy Mint user....

Very impressive how it all just flowed for the most part.

Cheers

Ash
AshtheFlash
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:18 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bobsmith, Google Adsense [Bot] and 22 guests