firewalll or no firewall? (solved, ty for the replies)

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

firewalll or no firewall? (solved, ty for the replies)

Postby Daemon Wolfe on Sun Jun 14, 2009 3:01 am

greetings, i am a utter newb, i love the look and feel of mint for one, but i am confussed on something, which is do i need to run firestarter? if so if i read a previous post's on this right, you run the wizard once and then you do not need to constantly run it everytime on boot...but that reminds me on something esle, do i need to run firestorm? do i need to worry about a firewall period? i am rather confussed and have tried to figure this out for the past week...
Last edited by Daemon Wolfe on Tue Jun 23, 2009 11:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Daemon Wolfe
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: firewalll or no firewall?

Postby emorrp1 on Sun Jun 14, 2009 4:58 am

you basically don't need a firewall if linux is your only system. And even if you did want to run one, I'd recommend something like Uncomplicated FireWall (UFW)
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8

Postby Daemon Wolfe on Sun Jun 14, 2009 7:02 am