Small Business Networking: From Windows to Linux

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Small Business Networking: From Windows to Linux

Postby quartarian on Sun Jun 14, 2009 4:37 am

Hello All,
I'm relatively new to Linux and I wanted to pick some brains about suggested deployment of Linux in a small business environment. I'm used to the ideology of MS small business networking, particularly with a central desktop server that houses users accounts and personal files (My Documents). Is Linux small business networking completely different than this?
quartarian
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Small Business Networking: From Windows to Linux

Postby emorrp1 on Sun Jun 14, 2009 4:56 am

quartarian wrote:particularly with a central desktop server that houses users accounts and personal files

This is exactly what we have set up at home, a linux server which houses all the documents, and set them to automount on user's login. You can go further than this and set it to use a networked /home, so all the users' settings are stored on there as well. Or go even further and use LTSPs. However if you're planning something like this, you'll need to heavily customise Linux Mint to enable these sorts of features, using guides written for Ubuntu or Debian. Also, you probably want something else running the server end, as mint doesn't have a server edition.
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8